Review: Divined by Emilly Wibberley!

25972104

*ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review*
I’ve been obsessed with this trilogy ever since I read the premise of book one and my obsession has only multiplied. This trilogy promised brutality, adventure, star crossed lovers, and so much more.
And boy did it deliver.
It makes me sad to be typing this review considering this is the conclusion to this epic trilogy.
In the first book, we meet Clio, one of the daughters of an Oracle. We follow her as she grows into her role as one but, we soon find out that most of the world surrounding her isn’t too fond of Oracles, especially a particular Emperor. She has to live her life with the weight of it on her shoulders and things pick up rapidly after that. The pace doesn’t let up until the last page of the trilogy.
We see Clio grow from a child in doubt of her role in the world, into a woman to be reckoned with. Fighting until her last breath. She’s, by far, one of my favorite female protagonists ever. I love how her mind works and the actions that she takes, with no hesitation, in order to save those she loves. If I was ever in doubt of her, I don’t remember it. She puts others before herself and the supporting characters aren’t any less amazing.
Like I said, this is a fast-paced series and it kept me on my toes from the first cover until the last. I was easily transported into this world from the very first page, even after months of being out of it. I couldn’t put this down and managed to read it in one day. And that’s saying something considering this is a 400 page book but I didn’t even feel any of it.
Can we talk about how perfect Riece and Clio are for a second?! They are one of my favorite couples to date and with good reason. The chemistry between both of them was palpable and there were no cracks in their foundation where any form of doubt could seep in. I believed their love as if it were my own and I absolutely loved their banter. They kept me laughing hysterically and crying whenever they were apart, physically and emotionally. I loved watching them grow as individuals, as well as a couple. Their love and strength was tested time and time again but their loyalty towards each other knew no bounds and I couldn’t help to but root for them every step of the way.
I loved how Emily wasn’t afraid of adding cringe-worthy elements in the story. She didn’t pull back any punches and I bow down to her for it. It made the story line that much more believable since the world isn’t sugar coated and Emily brought that into play in this phenomenal world. Some minor things that happened were predictable but that wasn’t the case where it mattered. Especially with that ending!!! That ending… was the most beautiful ending to a trilogy I’ve ever read. Or like I told Emily, the most beautiful beginning. I couldn’t stop crying as soon as a particular something was revealed, until after I had finished the book. I was left giddy and my heart swelled to massive proportions with pride and love for these characters. I’m pretty surprised I didn’t choke on it. I’m devastated to see this trilogy go but I’m just happy that I got to read about in the first place.
Thank you Emily for creating such an unbelievable world, with intense and memorable characters!

5/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

