Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas!!

17927395

I honestly don’t know where to start this review, so please bear with me while my jumbled thoughts try to right themselves.
It’s been a day since I finished this and after reading some of the reviews other people gave it, I can’t stop crying. All of the (PERFECT) events throughout this book were … phenomenal and now they’re running through my mind again. I still can’t believe I finished this so soon. I failed at trying to make it last and now I’m paying dearly for it.
Before starting this book, I was a nervous and terrified wreck. I haven’t read anything by Sarah J. Maas in a couple years and I was scared that I wasn’t going to like this after taking so much time from one of my all time favorite authors. There were so many factors that contributed to my fear, one of them being the infamous tanking of the sequel. It’s with immense relief that I admit I shouldn’t have even doubted the Queen of Fantasy. I had a slight problem with the pace but honestly, I didn’t even care since I will devour anything by Sarah, no matter how slow or fast it is.
I have no idea how to word the next couple sentences in order to convey the overwhelming love and respect I have for Sarah after this, but I’ll try: This book was incredible on its own but what makes my heart ache with undying love, awe, and appreciation was the fact that Sarah managed to not only give Feyre an outstanding character development, but she managed to make me develop alongside with her. My mind’s completely different than it was after reading ACOTAR and I can’t express how much I love that.
Now for some of the things that happened in ACOMAF that I absolutely loved:
1) Sarah gave me -us-so much of Rhysand…. SOOO MUCH (insert a faint, or two)… that I was literally begging for at the end of ACOTAR. But, no matter how much she gives me of him, I will never be satisfied. We get the chance to look deeper into his past and into the person he’s buried deep within. Let’s just say, I loved every moment of it.
2) Sarah also introduced us to some of the most memorable supporting characters I could have asked for. (I honestly don’t know how I loved ACOTAR without them in it.) They were magnificently well thought out. Not only were they their own person with their own unique backgrounds but they each had their role to play in making you fall in love with the story. Without them, I don’t know how certain aspects would’ve been executed.
3) Steam. Jesus almighty, so much steam. I NEED steam in a book or else I’m not interested in it and Sarah more than delivered in this one. For me, the more, the better and she gave us bunches.
4) Like I mentioned before, there’s an amazing character development in Feyre. It was ugly but there was no doubt in my mind that it was believable. The events of the first book utterly broke Feyre and it was fascinating to see her come to terms with everything that happened and grow because of it. Feyre made me unbelievably proud time and time again. There was one scene where she made me mad but she corrected herself and I went back to loving her again.
5) The relationship between Feyre and her Lord. Their chemistry was palpable and I swear my room got a thousand and one degrees hotter by the second whenever they were together. I loved how their relationship was selfless and trusting. They built each other up instead of trying to shape the other into somebody they weren’t. And let’s not forget about their banter; they complemented each other’s sense of humor perfectly and it was hilarious to witness. Their relationship is something I will strive to someday have in my life.
6) We also get to see more of a couple other courts in the area. We see how they’ve been impacted by certain events and how they’re trying to go back to how things were before them.
This book ripped out so many emotions from me that I don’t even know how I managed to get through it all. I cried of happiness, anger, and heartbreak. I roared with laughter and with betrayal. I hurt with sympathy, fear, and pride. I laughed so much… And I’m going completely insane without the next installment!!
Also, for those of you saying this is adult because of the sexuality, you’re wrong. The adult genre is about AGE not the sexuality. Feyre is NOT an adult (yet) therefore she is a young adult, making this a YOUNG ADULT fantasy. I’m sorry for that little rant guys, but I am very protective over my favorite things and Sarah is one of those.
Anyway, I don’t know what to do with my life right now. This book is one of the best books I’ve ever read. It’s SO. MUCH. better than A Court of Thorns and Roses and that’s saying something since I absolutely loved that book. This book catered to my thoughts and needs and it made me fall in love with Sarah all over again. I felt like Sarah reached into my mind and then wrote down notes on what she saw in them.
*I send massive kudos to Sarah for not making their characters take the easy way out. For not conforming to what the fans wanted out of the story but for what the story wanted for itself. As a reader and an aspiring writer, I understand the difficulty she must’ve felt in taking the story in this direction and she has made me proud for taking that leap. She molded my mind to her favor with every word, just like any great author should, and I can’t wait to see what else she has in store for us! Her words are my treasure and I will cherish them as they come.*

7/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

