Review: The Diary of Lying Lovers by Rose Ventresca

26145886

*Copy provided by author in exchange for an honest review*
As many of you might know, I am not a fan of reading the synopsis of a book. I love going in as blind as I possibly can and that’s exactly what I did here. Now, with that said, I didn’t know this was a memoir until after I was halfway in and the main character referred to herself with the same last name as the author. Since I was late in figuring this out, I had already formed my opinions about the characters and they weren’t good ones. I tried turning this around and looking at them as real people but this made it worse for me.
Mainly because the writing style was not pleasant for me. The sentences sounded broken/choppy; they didn’t flow and they just felt… harsh and random. If that makes sense. The sentences were written as just facts, not sounding like a story at all. There were some facts added in that were so incredibly random, I kept asking myself what they were doing in the story to begin with.
I was beyond aggravated with the main character from the first page until the end. Now this was before I noticed the main character was the author. Unfortunately, my opinion didn’t change in that aspect either. I just felt like she was incredibly naive and immature; she gave me a constant and awful headache.
The characters were just there but I had no way of connecting to them. I wasn’t a fan of any of them and honestly, the things that were supposed to blow me away were predictable from the start. The characters almost rarely got more than superficial sentences in dialogue. I want intimacy in the dialogue between characters to make me believe their connection but I didn’t believe anything that was written in this novel. I know we’re supposed to believe the love she has for Rocky but we get little to no dialogue from him. He just felt… absent -literally and figuratively- like basically all of the characters did.
I kept waiting for a plot twist or something, but I felt cheated instead. So many things weren’t up to par, that I don’t even know how to express in words everything that was missing.
Also, my biggest pet peeve was taken advantage of again: exclamation marks. Nobody speaks with exclamation marks at the end of almost all of their sentences. I’m sorry, but it’s true.
All in all, I’m glad I gave this a chance but I won’t find myself picking anything else up by this author any time soon.

1/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

