Review: Mr. Brightside by Jay Clark!

13722318

This was the first book I’ve read by Jay Clark and I’m now a big fan of him!
This book follows Abram and Juliette with intricate backstories that merge in an unexpected way that I’ve never read before.
Abram was just fantastic. I absolutely adored his humor and I kept looking forward to it at every turn of the page. He’s patient, king, caring, and so many other things that a guy should possess.
Juliette’s struggling with letting herself do the things she actually likes to do, burying it deep by pretending not to care as much as she does. She has an addiction problem due to their pasts and it was realistic how she dealt with it. Jay succeeded in making me step into her shoes and believe like I was the one going through the things she was. Juliette’s a more than easy character to relate to due to her struggles.
I loved how these two characters managed to help each other out while growing as individuals as well. They didn’t make their relationship a one-way street and I was so proud of them that I shed tears.
This book made me laugh too many times to count and it gave me so many happy feels. This was an easy story to get through; A light read while at the same time dealing with some serious topics. I went in not knowing anything about it and it paid off wonderfully. The synopsis gives away how their backgrounds collide and I loved not having read it beforehand. A part of me will always be awaiting a sequel to this book. I would love to see what else these two are doing.

4.5/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

