Review: After Hours by Claire Kennedy

22817098

This book was definitely one that I recommend to those who are in a slump. I was in one and I couldn’t put it down. I read it in one sitting and it was entertaining to read.
This book takes place in a cafe where the employees have to be a part of a game of dares, ‘Tips’, that seems to be a form of passage in the town it’s in. Employees have to participate or they will find themselves without a job. This story was full of humor, drama, betrayal, and everything in between.
When I found out that this book was told in 4 different point of views, I was a little intimidated. I thought I wouldn’t get the characters straight in my head but the story soon proved me wrong. I was looking forward to each of their stories and I loved how everybody got what they deserved in the end. Be it a punishment or a happy ending.
I would have given this book more stars if I had actually connected on an emotional level to any of the characters. I enjoyed reading their backstories and how they overcame the secrets they each had but I didn’t fall in love with any of them. I would definitely read other books Claire comes out with in the future though!

3/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

