ARC Review: Where Love Lies by Julie Cohen!

26114156

US expected publication: August 9, 2016

*ARC provided by St. Martin’s Griffin in exchange for an honest review*
I can’t rate this book. 5 measly stars is not, and will never, be enough to capture the overwhelming love and appreciation I have for this novel and this author now. This novel has become one of the most amazing books I’ve read in my entire lifetime and I will never tire of recommending it.
This story follows Felicity, a woman happily married to a man named Quinn. They live in a small town and their marriage has been comfortable at best. But one day, everything is thrown up in the air the moment she smells a scent that takes her back to when she was deeply in love with someone else: Ewan.
The story follows all 3 and their journey as they try to fight for a love they can’t explain. This is one of the most intense love triangles I’ve had the pleasure of reading about and my tears can testify to that. I wanted the best for all of them but in different ways.
Felicity’s has always been dealing with more than meets the eye. She’s a writer and seems to be late for everything. We follow her as she makes the decision to dwell in the past no matter what consequences arise in the present.
Quinn was my favorite character in this entire story, hands down. He’s incredible in so many ways and he didn’t deserve the things he had to deal with. My heart broke for him time and time again… 98% of my tears were for him. He’s patient to a fault and likes to be early everywhere he goes. He’s also kind, loving, sweet, thoughtful, and his point of views were the most heart-felt of them all. I was beyond protective of him and it was torture to keep reading while I witnessed his heart break.
Ewan has changed completely from the man Felicity used to know but their encounter proves extremely necessary for many reasons.
The stories between all 3 of them ended better than I could’ve imagined them myself. I found myself laughing from immense relief in the end. I thought the story wasn’t going to go my way but it definitely did!
All of these characters managed to steal my heart and make me root for each one of them in the end. One of them I didn’t like in the beginning, but I finished the story loving her… Okay, yes, it was Felicity. She managed to make me change my opinion of her and I always love when that happens. She made the best decision she could make out of the situation she was going through and for that, I’m immensely proud of her.
In the past, I’ve read books that have destroyed me but the stories usually end completely different than what I wanted them to. But this wasn’t the case here and I’m forever grateful to Julie. Jesus Christ. This story was ten times the heartbreak but in the end, it was all worth it. All because the author reached into my soul, and gave me what I most wanted out of the story. I was left raw and exposed by the end but also complete and proud.
Julie’s talent with words was magnificent. It pulled every single heart string my heart had to give and it was one of the most intense roller coasters of my life. I spent almost the entire story in tears. Fair warning, just have tissues at hand. Whenever I had to put the book down to do simple daily tasks, I couldn’t get the characters out of my head. I felt like a drug addict while my fingers itched to crack the spine again. I started having withdrawals the second my eyes strayed from the page and it was torture. So, it comes as no surprise that I finished this book in little over a day.
This story took so many tragic twists and beautiful turns that I never saw coming. The moment we find out the meaning behind the title was so perfect and powerful that it felt like a tremendous punch to the heart. There’s nothing I love more than the perfect title and Julie gives us that.
I still can’t wrap my head around how much these (almost) 400 pages made me cry. I wouldn’t believe it but since I was doing all of the crying, I have to take my word for it. I loved how the way Julie writes makes you crawl deep within the character’s hearts and witness their raw emotions. It enables you to sympathize to their feelings and feel as they do.
It’s not often when I read a book that makes me fall in love with reading all over again but this one managed to do that and so much more. The fact that we get a glimpse to the inspiration behind the story was an added bonus. This was one of the most unique and stunning love stories I’ve ever read. Julie has become one of my favorite authors of all time because of it. I can’t wait to read more of what she has to offer.

Infinity/5 stars!

9 responses to “ARC Review: Where Love Lies by Julie Cohen!

  1. Now I’m not one for love triangles most of the time, but this one actually sounds intriguing. I’ll definitely be checking this book out! ๐Ÿ˜€ Great review – especially for making me want to read a love triangle!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

