Review: A Faerie’s Curse by Rachel Morgan!

29742151

*ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review*
THIS BOOK… What can I say that will explain everything I’m feeling? My mind is still going insane from everything I just experienced. I want to cry just thinking about the fact that I can’t read this again for the first time. Please just bear with me while I try to get my jumbled thoughts straightened out.
This is the 3rd and final book that follows Calla’s story. The first 3 books in this series followed Violet and it goes without saying that it’s amazing to see cameos from those books. This is the 6th book in the series but it minus well be the first. Why? Because it made me fall in love with this world all over again. Just like every book before it has managed to accomplish. After all these books you’d think that my love for this world would fade but it just keeps on being rekindled. This book didn’t lack in any department. Every book has its own unique stamp that demands to be devoured and cherished. I love how the story line keeps on getting more intense and brutal as we go. I was temporarily unavailable while reading this since nothing else was as fascinating as staying in this world.
This book- no, this series- is one of the biggest loves of my life. I don’t know what or where would I be without this magnificent world to revisit with every Creepy Hollow book that Rachel writes. I am dreading the end of this series already. I know it won’t be for a few books yet but my dread is real. Rachel has created THE world I wish I could get lost in forever. If anybody asks me, my #1 answer will always be Creepy Hollow. (Okay, most of my reasoning is that Chase [my baby] lives in this world so it’s only fair that I should too.) I could go on and on about everything Rachel has managed to rip out of me with her epic storytelling but I will try and keep it down to a minimum.
The world is magnificent and beautiful while the characters are deliciously complex. Even the side characters play a memorable part to the story which makes me love them as much as if they were main characters. (I can’t love anybody in this world as much as I love Chase though, so there’s that.) Rachel effortlessly managed to made me step into the character’s shoes and feel their raw emotions. I felt exhausted after reading the last page because of that little detail. My heart went on an emotional roller coaster that it was far from ready to experience but I’m not complaining. I think it’s always a pleasure when an author rips ugly sobs out of their readers.
I’m wasn’t even halfway into the book when I found myself sobbing my eyes out. Chase’s lines were just… perfect. He’s the one that was mainly making me cry throughout the book. I felt like the things he was saying to Calla were directed at me and it was the beautiful feeling. All the things he and Calla went through were hurting me in the best way. Those two are some of the BEST characters to witness while they’re interacting with each other. Their emotions jumped of the pages and into my heart, giving me goosebumps. Every time Calla reacted to Chase’s feeling the exact same thing even before I read Rachel’s descriptions. Her pain, her sorrow, her doubts, her loyalty, her love, her tears were my own for as long as I was reading. Everything managed to grip my heart and make it its puppet. I felt every single emotion myself which made me love Calla even more than I already did.
I loved that the story was fast-paced from the very start and it didn’t let up as the story went on. I missed these characters like crazy and now I’m back to missing them again thanks to having read it in one sitting. I wish there was a way I could open the book and live in there forever (with Chase.). This conclusion to Calla’s story was heartbreaking and so brutal; it had me sobbing time and time again. Just the mention of a certain ‘V’ name had me losing it like nobody’s business. As soon as I reached the last few chapters, I was sobbing nonstop.
I seriously can’t believe the sacrifices Rachel made her characters go through. I was expecting brutality to a certain extent but Rachel blew my expectations out of the park. She went somewhere I never expected her to go and even though it made me hurt all over and drown in my tears, I’m awed by her commitment to telling a magnificent story. It had its overwhelming dark moments that I don’t wish upon anybody but it made the story even more memorable. Of course, there was a lot of joy, even in the darkest of moments, which is the ONLY reason I survived this story. I hope my heart heals while I wait for the next precious book. I can’t wait to see whose story we are following next!

7/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

