Review: Crystal Crowned by Elise Kova!

Crystal-Crowned-Cover-sm

*ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review*

HAPPY 5TH RELEASE DAY TO MY #1 FAVORITE AUTHOR OF ALL TIME!!!!

“I am the wind, Aldrik, but you are the compass point to which my passions gust.”

Welp, the time has come to wave goodbye to this spectacular series and most important of all, my babies Aldrik and Vhalla. Jesus. I am devastated. I don’t know how to start this review. I’m being overwhelmed with feelings that I felt when I finished this book last month. I feel as if I just finished the book a second ago and I’m completely desperate to crawl back into this marvelous world. And more importantly, revisit the love of my life, Aldrik. UGH!!!!! Why can’t I reach into the pages and pull him out so he can be with me?????
Anyway, back to the review. I have no idea what else to say that I haven’t said before but I will try.
Right off the bat, I felt as I was being pulled into my doom. Every read page was a page closer to the end and I experienced the most intense battle of wills while reading this. I wanted to slow it down as much as I could but clearly that didn’t work out since I finished it in a day.
I loved how even though this is book 5, we are still learning new things about this world and its characters. We are still getting deeper looks into their backgrounds and I couldn’t help obsessing over them. I was proud of everybody that made it to the end, not just Vhalla and Aldrik. Every single one of them carved their place into their world and I couldn’t have asked for a better way to leave them.
Speaking about deeper backgrounds, WE GOT TO SEE MORE OF JAX’S!!!!!! That was one of my absolute favorite things about this book. We got to see why he became what he is and how. If Aldrik wasn’t in the picture, Jax would be the love of my life so the fact that we got to see more of his background was a big deal for me. His character, just like the others, was deliciously complex and I loved having the honor to witness what made him tick. His character development was enough to make me swoon and I’m not ashamed to admit it. Ugh, if I can’t bring Aldrik to life can I bring Jax instead???
Moving on. Vhalla kept making me feel immensely proud of the person she has become since book one. Her fierceness and her loyalty were two of her never-ending amazing qualities that I kept rooting for. The road from a librarian to royalty was fascinating to witness and immensely rewarding for the characters as well as the readers. She’s nothing less that an inspiration and I will forever hold her dear to my heart.
And then there’s Aldrik. My sweet, realistic, fierce, sexy specimen of a man. What can I say about my love that I haven’t said before? Well, as proud as Vhalla has made me, it doesn’t come nearly as close as to how proud Aldrik has made me. He started off as an aloof, broken, broody prince but he manged to become a fearless but kind ruler. His character development was the most satisfying out of every other one, for me. He overcame the things that would have made him a not-so-great ruler and everything that made his relationship with Vhalla a toxic one. I will forever admire him for being the most amazing male fictional character that has ever crossed my path.

“What did one say to a man who had lost everything but gained the world?”

Crystal-Crowned-Promo-1-2

The only criticism I have is that I felt like this book was slower than the others. I didn’t mind it so much since there was more of my ultimate favorite power couple and I will never complain about that. Also THE confrontation came too far into the book and ended too quickly for me. I don’t know how to explain it but I would’ve liked… more out of the battle.
All in all, that ending more than makes up for it all. It was perfect, a bit predictable, but perfect nonetheless. Vhalla and Aldrik are characters that definitely deserve each other more than anything in the world. (I’m a little-a lot- jealous of that fact.) All of their struggles and sacrifices weren’t for nothing and they paved the way for the best outcome. I couldn’t stop smiling while watching them interact with each other. Yes, I’m jealous of Vhalla and forever will be, but I would be lying if I said I wasn’t tremendously happy for the two of them. They witnessed some of the worst things imaginable and have lost more than a person should ever lose but they still managed to keep each other afloat.
Even though we got 5 books out of this incredible series… I will always, ALWAYS, be internally demanding more. I will never have enough time with these characters that have made me fall in love over and over again with their complexity and realism. No other books will ever live up to the pedestal that I hold this series on and that is the harsh truth. Elise has ruined me for everybody else but I don’t regret a single moment of it.
Like I said a while back, I gave up rating this series. Just keep in mind that I am more than obsessed with it and it deserves more than just 5 stars.


ORDER THE ENTIRE SERIES BELOW!!

Click [HERE]!!!

4 responses to “Review: Crystal Crowned by Elise Kova!

  1. Pingback: COVER REVEAL: The Crown’s Dog by Elise Kova! |

  2. Pingback: A Fortnight in Loom Event: Week 1! |

  3. Pingback: A Fortnight in Loom Event: Week 2! |

Leave a Reply

