Review: Evanescent by Gabriella LePore

28054396

*Copy provided by author in exchange for an honest review*
This was my first read by Gabriella and I found it to be quite entertaining. We follow three guys and our main character, Bronwen, as they try to protect each other while one of them is being hunted.
I thought Felix, one of the guys, was hilarious! His character was the one that captured my attention since page one. His personality was utterly amazing to witness and his heart was definitely something to appreciate. In my opinion, I felt like his character was more thought out than the other ones.
Bronwen was just ‘eh’ to me. I didn’t feel any connection to her and her actions grew to be a bit predictable.
Loki was adorable and Alistar just rubbed me off as a quiet guy for some reason. The bond between the guys was beautiful to be a part of but I still felt like Felix outshone all of them. I have no idea if that was Gabriella’s intention but it is what it is.
I also was NOT on board with the small ‘romance’ part of the story. It’s a sad day when I write those words but it’s the truth. It wasn’t as subtle as I would’ve loved it to have been; It came too suddenly and I couldn’t believe any of it. No matter how hard I tried, I just couldn’t see it.
Another thing that didn’t rub me the right way was that the three guys were known to be incredibly powerful but I honestly didn’t see it. I would’ve loved to WITNESS their incredible power instead of being told about it. We got to see a little bit of it but it wasn’t enough to sway me. I just felt like it was a huge cop out.
Now for the positives:
The format in this book was outstanding! If I wasn’t so smitten with Felix, the format itself would’ve been the one making turn the pages. The one thing that had me almost giving this book 3 stars was that spectacular ending. I bow down to Gabriella for going in that direction with her story. It’s something I rarely see in the books I read and it came to a huge blow to me. It made me shed some tears and I don’t regret any of it. The twists we encountered through this story were amazing and I never saw them coming.
All in all, I will definitely be reading more by Gabriella in the future.

2.6/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

