Review: The Unraveling of Us by M.L. Gardner

29203614

*Copy provided by author in exchange for an honest review*
This was my first by M.L. Gardner and I really enjoyed it. We follow a married couple, Phillip and Stephanie, as they struggle with their relationship and their daughter’s life choices.
Phillip wants to work it out with Stephanie but she’s having second thoughts about everything. My heart went out to him over and over again. He didn’t deserve to be treated the way Stephanie was treating him. I understand he made some mistakes but nothing was worth making him into a target.
As you can probably tell, I wasn’t a fan of Stephanie. I felt like her mood swings were no different than a teenager’s and it wasn’t ideal to witness on a mother. My opinion of her didn’t really change until the last part of the book but it wasn’t a complete 180 either. I didn’t want to strangle her anymore so I took it as a plus.
This story deals with a handful of dark topics and it was rough witnessing everything play out. The situation was awful but I couldn’t form a connection to any of the characters so it made it less impacting.
The timeline and writing was a little rocky. I kept getting confused on what was the present and what was the past until some certain detail made it clear. I felt like the past events could’ve been spaced out throughout the story instead of giving it to us all at once. And for the writing, there were so many short sentences that I felt like I was reading a list most of the time. Anyway, that’s just my opinion.
The second half of the book was easier to get through and I liked that ending a lot.

3/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

