ARC Review: A Fine Mess by Kelly Siskind!

29369551

*ARC provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*
Expected Publication: August 1, 2016
I broke my number one rule again and I didn’t start this series from book 1. I dived straight into this one since I saw that it focused on a different couple than the first one. I got a few spoilers here and there from book one but it wasn’t anybody’s fault but mine so it didn’t come close to ruining my experience. (To be fair, I looked for it at my library and they didn’t have it.)
Anyway, I loved this book! Kelly has been added to my auto-read author list because of it.
This book focused on Sawyer and Lily, two characters who met in book one. We get both of their POV’s as they go through hardships that make it hard for them to open up to someone else completely.
Sawyer has family issues that hit close to home for me and Lily was experiencing something I’ve heard about but never had the opportunity to read about. Sawyer is the type of guy that is aware of his own attractiveness but yet manages to be down to earth and humorous. His intentions are always good and I loved meeting him. Lily is a strong heroine that I grew to be proud of. My respect for her kept multiplying throughout the story.
I absolutely loved seeing them together. They were so genuine with each other even when they weren’t. That probably doesn’t make any sense but if you read it, it just might. Their attraction to each other was apparent in their every action; It was apparent from the very first page and I never had any doubts about it. Their devotion to each other’s well being was beautiful to witness too. They supported each other in every way they could and it was incredible. Both of their character developments were phenomenal. The pace and everything felt as real as life and I couldn’t tear my eyes away. Their success and failures felt like my own and I couldn’t help but cheer them on every step of the way, as individuals and as a couple. And their chemistry… Oh my. It was on fire, to say the least. It goes without saying that I would love to see where their story goes next! This adventure with them didn’t last long enough for me and I doubt it ever will.
This book had me shedding tears from laughing so hard from the very first page. The humor didn’t let up from cover to cover and I loved seeing the main hero be funnier than the usual guys I read about. It was definitely a breath of fresh air. This story also felt like I was reading every thought that had passed through my head in many occasions. It spoke to me on so many different levels and my connection to it was something I wasn’t expecting but appreciate nonetheless. This was the perfect combination of fluff and heavy and I can’t recommend it enough.

4/5 stars!

 

Leave a Reply

