Review: Midnight Sky by Amy Braun!

29963541

*ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review*
I forgot what number book this was that I’ve read by Amy but I’ve said this before and will do so again: One thing, out of the many, that I can count on to be in Amy’s books is absolute brutality. She doesn’t make her characters take the easy way out and it’s something that doesn’t fail to impress me. This book starts right in the middle of the action and the roller coaster doesn’t let up.
This is the second book in the Dark Sky series and we follow another strong heroine. It’s something Amy is no stranger to. Our heroine is trying to amend her parent’s mistakes while also trying to save herself and her sister from demise. I swear, my respect for our heroine, Claire, just keeps growing, especially in this installment. She is badass, smart, headstrong, and will go through great lengths in order to ensure her loved one’s safety.
As amazing as our main character is, I am seriously falling for our side characters too. I mean, I fell for Sawyer the minute I met him but that’s beside the point. I just really love how Gemma and Nash’s dynamic is something I can always count on. They found love, each other, and have stuck together through thick and thin. Well, mostly thick, considering the gruesome chaos Earth is in. Their relationship is the rock in the story, at least for me.
I really, really, want to talk about Sawyer and all my thoughts that went through while witnessing his actions but I can’t without giving away spoilers. So I’ll just mention that I am so proud of him for doing what he did almost at the end. AHHH!! It made me shed tears and it made me cheer out loud for him. After that, I want the third book in my hands already!!! I only ever wanted him to be happy and he needs to cut it out and listen to me- I mean Claire.
At certain points the story was slightly predictable but it was still interesting to see the plot line play out. BUT, there was a certain part of the story that I thought I had pegged from the very beginning but it turned out that yes, I was right, but I was also very wrong. And because of that, I grew to pity a character I was never a fan of. It makes my heart hurt just thinking about it.
I can’t wait to see what other situations Claire gets into and engineers her way out of. (Pun intended) Also, I NEED those short stories like yesterday!!! Especially Sawyer’s.

4/5 stars!

2 responses to “Review: Midnight Sky by Amy Braun!

  1. Pingback: A Fortnight in Loom Event: Week 1! |

  2. Pingback: A Fortnight in Loom Event: Week 2! |

Leave a Reply

