Review: Summer Girl by A.S. Green!

31114818

*ARC provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*
This is A.S. Green’s debut novel and I massively enjoyed it! The characters felt incredibly real and it was no surprise that they won me over fairly quickly. They were well thought out and because of that, I was also interested in the side characters.
We follow Katherine, a 20 year-old lover of lists and all things clean, as she navigates a summer job that is completely out of her comfort zone with the intent of finding her true self. This alone makes it super easy to connect to her from the start, at least for me. As the ending rushed at me, my admiration for her and how far she’s come kept growing.
In comes Bennet, a musician who works on the ferry in the town where Katherine will be spending her summer. He’s a man who knows what he wants, most of the time, which was an interesting thing to watch as he interacted with Kat, someone who didn’t. It was also amazing to see how far he was willing to go in order to ensure Kat’s happiness, even if it meant their relationship’s own demise. The things he did for her… I’m tearing up just thinking about it. He’s made it high up on my boyfriend list, that’s for sure.
These two were so completely opposite from each other that it was incredible they ever hit it off in the first place. I was on board (no pun intended) with their relationship every step of the way. Their chemistry was never in question and I loved how they helped each other out when they most needed it.
This book was one of the most hilarious ones I’ve ever read; It had my stomach cramping and my eyes watering from all the laughing. Both Katherine and Bennet knew how to drive me into hysterics and I enjoyed every second of it. There were some heartbreaking moments as well but the ending was beautiful and it made me giddy with happiness.
The only comments I have are that Bennet’s chapters were too short for me and I saw the plot twist coming really early on so it didn’t have as much impact on me as I hoped. Either way, I will definitely be following Green’s future works!

4.5/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

