Review: The Proverbial Mr. Universe by Maria La Serra

29532225

*Copy provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*
“…We all crave for someone to make us feel like magic. We want to see ourselves, how wonderful we are in someone else’s eyes, but here’s the kicker: this will never be unless you believe you are magic and beautiful yourself.”
This is Maria’s debut novel and I was pleased with it for the most part. We follow Olivia who has always lived her life following her dad’s wishes in fear of disappointing him. With that said, I really liked the dynamic between her and her family. Their love and loyalty to each other was palpable and it made me yearn for a closer relationship to mine.
This story begins with mysterious notes written by a Mr. Universe that seem to find Olivia everywhere she goes. These notes seem to pop up at the perfect time to help her with current situations. Some of those notes really did a number on me because of their depth. I don’t know if it was supposed to be incredibly obvious who Mr. Universe was, but it was to me, and that impacted my experience a lot. I’m sad to say that I didn’t form a connection to Olivia at all. She was just… okay, to me.
“If you can’t be friends first, how can you be anything else?”
We also follow Nick, an artist with so much wisdom that blew me away constantly. He had a beautiful soul and my heart ached at his unfortunate experiences. His heart was eternal and I fell in love with it. He only ever deserved the best of the best and I was invested in his happiness more than anybody else’s. I was only rooting for them two because it made Nick happy.
“…When you’re ready to let go, that’s where you’ll find me, waiting for you with open arms.”
Now for the positives: The format of this novel was gorgeous! The format alone would’ve kept me flipping the pages had I not been curious where Olivia and Nick would end up.
I loved how Olivia and Nick’s relationship, for a while, went in the direction that I don’t normally see. It was interesting to see them navigate their relationship in a different way than usual and it’s what made me almost give it 4 stars. The addition at the end was also an amazing contribution to the story and made me appreciate it even more.
There were SO MANY amazing quotes throughout this story (as you can tell) and, of course, most of them came from Mr. Universe. Those notes alone could change someone’s whole outlook on life and it makes for a beautiful story. Those notes can easily form a connection to anybody that stumbles upon them.
This was also a solid clean romance. I haven’t read a clean romance in years, if at all, and it made me appreciate the story in a different way.
“Sometimes love is not what the heart expects. Sometimes it’s even better.”

3.5/5 stars.

2 responses to “Review: The Proverbial Mr. Universe by Maria La Serra

Leave a Reply

