Review: Rare Form by Jen Crane!

26222983

*Copy provided by author in exchange for an honest review*
This was my first read by Jen and I was completely taken over by her! Her writing was so easy to get lost in from the very first word and kept you completely intrigued from cover to cover. I read this in one sitting as evidence of this.
This book follows Stella Stonewall, a college graduate who never really knew where she came from. She never fit in anywhere and had difficulty picturing her future. Her story starts as she meets a S.E.X.Y. and swoon worthy guy, Rowan, that ties into the life she never knew she was a part of. He shows her a life where she can see a future in and gives her a new found purpose. We follow her as she struggles with the attraction blooming between them while also attending classes that help her learn everything there is to learn about her new world. It’s been so long since I’ve read a book that focuses on a non-human school so this plot line was deeply appreciated.
I absolutely loved how Jen tackled this story. She never gave us information overload and I couldn’t be any more grateful. She gave us just enough to make us yearn for more and boy, do I want MORE. I loved how this story follows adults instead of teenagers. It’s a different take in ‘magic’ school and I loved seeing a maturity on campus I don’t normally see. I also really liked the fact that there was no skirting around the subject of sex like most of the books out there.
This story was a bit predictable but it didn’t impact my experience at all. In fact, I currently just want to read, read, and read everything Jen comes out with. I am obsessed with this world and I don’t think I will ever get enough of it. This story was funny and had the most painful sexual tension ever. I couldn’t help but feel as if I were a part of that tension; Rowan drove me completely and utterly insane… to put it lightly.
All of the characters were beautiful and unique in their own way. I loved the dynamic between them since it felt undeniably real. I can’t wait to continue this series!!!

4.5/5 stars!

Leave a comment