Review: Caught in the Flames by Kacey Shea!

  • Banner
    Title: Caught in the Flames
    Author: Kacey Shea
    Genre: Contemporary Romance
    Release Date: August 23
    Add to your TBR: [Goodreads]

    SYNOPSIS:
    CIF_FrontCover_LoRes
    Callie Gordon is more than a little obsessed…
    I love firemen.
    Heroic. Selfless. Brave.
    Not to mention the uniform with those damn sexy pants…I can’t get enough.
    Imagine my surprise when local fire captain, Chase Matthews, wanders into my yard on
    moving day. I’ve hit real estate gold. Hot as sin with that all-knowing smirk creates an
    instant spark. Welcome to the neighborhood never looked so good.
    But dating a firefighter isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. Chase keeps me at distance even
    when I attempt to break down his walls. A friendship with the nosy eccentric woman
    down the street reveals there’s more to Chase than he’s willing to share. I’m playing with
    fire and bound to get burned.
    Secrets unfold.
    Truths are brought to light.
    Can I handle the heat? Or will my love for this man prove that sometimes even good
    girls have to burn down the house?

    BUY LINKS:
    NOW live
    Amazon: https://goo.gl/LqtMyR
    Kobo: https://goo.gl/sXVm8Z
    Nook: http://goo.gl/Z41QpX
    iBooks: https://itun.es/us/LmOVdb.l

    MY REVIEW:
    CIF_FullCover_LoRes
    *Copy provided by author in exchange for an honest review*
    This book follows Callie, a graphic designer whose rambling sort of rubbed me the wrong way. We follow her as she falls for a firefighter that I never cared for. Don’t get me wrong, he did unspeakable things to me whenever he spoke in an assertive way but my first instinct was ‘ew’ and it never changed. I was actually fearing the worst in the first half. I thought I was going to dislike this book and it was killing me. I absolutely love Kacey and it never occurred to me that disliking one of her books would be a possibility… BUT, I shouldn’t have been so scared because Kacey definitely turned it all around on me. (I should’ve never doubted you, Kacey, I’m sorry!) She had me going for a while there and I love her so much more for making a fool out of me. I never thought I would say that, but there it is. I seriously loved how differently Kacey tackled this love story and it made me appreciate it so much more. I can’t even begin to describe how much I loved the way everything turned out. *Sigh*
    It kills me to say that I didn’t care for Callie at all. The dynamic between her and her friends was amazing to witness but I couldn’t make myself connect to her. Even though I wasn’t attached to her, my emotions were i.n.t.e.n.s.e. while reading this. The things that happened to her were just UNACCEPTABLE and it drove me insane. (Yes, I’m screaming on the inside.) I honestly wanted to go on a rampage and show the characters that did her wrong just how much they can regret their actions. Nobody deserves to be treated the way Callie was and the way she handled the situation showed me how much of a bigger person she was than me. I wouldn’t have been as close as forgiving as her but I know it was the right thing to do.
    Another thing I didn’t like was the way the chapters began. I enjoyed the structure the first couple of times but then it started getting a little old. Besides that, this book was so hilarious that it had me on the verge of dehydration from so much crying. It was sometimes predictable but I didn’t mind it. It ended up being one of the sweetest and most unique love stories I’ve ever read. I can’t wait to see what else Kacey has in store for us!
    4/5 stars!

    ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
    IMG_2028
Kacey Shea is a mom of three, wife, and indie author who resides in sunny Arizona. She enjoys reading and writing romance novels as much as her son loves unicorns, which is a lot.
When she’s not writing you will find her playing taxi cab to her children while belting
out her favorite tunes, meeting friends or family for food and to share some laughs, or
sweating it out in the gym. Kacey finds that picking up heavy weights repeatedly is good for her mental health as much as it is for the physical.
She has an unhealthy obsession with firefighters. It could be the pants. It could be the
fire. It’s just hot. On occasion she has been known to include them, without their knowledge, in her selfies outside the grocery store.
Kacey one day aspires to be a woman hand model in a sexy photo shoot. You know, the
woman’s hand raking across the muscular back or six pack stomach of the male fitness model. Yep, that hand.
Until that day comes she will continue writing sexy, flirty romance novels in hopes to
bring others joy!
Kacey enjoys interacting with her fans so please feel free to stalk her on Facebook,
Instagram or Twitter.

AUTHOR LINKS:
Fires are dangerous
Kacey’s Closet Vixens (Reader Group):
Kacey’s Newsletter Sign Up: [HERE]
Sometimes good girls

Logo PNG (1)

Leave a Reply

