Review: All Shook Up by Chelsey Krause

sunny beach

*Copy provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*
This was my first read by Chelsey and unfortunately, I wasn’t as big of a fan as I wished I would be.
This book follows Natalie, a thrift store manager that starts looking for her bio family because of something she found. The premise had lots of potential and I was honestly excited for it but I didn’t find it enjoyable. I found Nat to rarely act her age and I wasn’t invested in her at all. The only times I was truly intrigued were the moments she was digging into her past, nothing else. I felt like the scenes between her and the main love interest trumped everything and everyone else in her life and that wasn’t to my liking when I wanted to know more about her as an individual. I felt like I was being forced to like them together but it didn’t work. This was one of the rare times I wished the romance would have been on the back burner.


In comes Casey, a firefighter who is thrown into her family search as well. I wasn’t a fan of them together (or apart) at all. I felt like their attraction was too instantaneous for me and I couldn’t support it.
I felt like the story was super cheesy and too far-fetched to be believable. The extreme number of coincidences were giving me headaches more often than not. Upcoming events were too obvious and I never like predicting them from the beginning of the story, like it happened here. I also felt like there weren’t as many details as I would’ve liked there to be about many things. It got super repetitive and it was one of the main things that made my reading experience not so great.

1.5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

