Review: The Form of Things Unknown by Robin Bridges

28109948

*ARC provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*
This book follows Natalie as she struggles to apply herself back into society after her trip to the psych ward. In the beginning, she is forced by her brother to audition for a Shakespeare play and we get to see how she throws herself into it in order to feel normal again.
I really liked her as a main character. I could actually feel her emotions and how everything around her was impacting the image she had in her head about herself. I enjoyed meeting everyone in her life, old and new; Natalie had a knack for befriending nice people, for the most part, and I admired that about her. One thing I didn’t enjoy was that I felt like a certain reveal of her background story was anticlimactic. I was really looking forward to it and when the time came, I was left pretty disappointed.
I absolutely loved her brother more than anyone in this story. He was sympathetic, kind, caring, diverse, and everything a sibling should be. I loved seeing them interact with each other since it reminded me so much of my own relationship with my brother.
I was also super intrigued where Lucas, a fellow psych ward attendee, was concerned. His personality and dodgy behavior made him alluring to me and I loved reading about his background. Another one of my favorite things was seeing him care for his little sister.
Robin’s writing is more than intriguing and incredibly easy to consume. I loved the vibe I felt throughout this book. It wasn’t creepy or anything but I always enjoy it when authors don’t make it all about fluff. The ending was nice and a little innocent for me, but enjoyable nonetheless.
Despite my low rating, I am still intrigued by these characters and would love to know more about them!

3.5/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

