Review: Been Here All Along by Sandy Hall!

23854755

*ARC provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*
This was my first novel by Sandy Hall and I can honestly say that I am a fan now! This is a diverse YA book and I seriously wish I could reread it immediately.
We got 4 total POV’s in this book but the ones that really mattered (at least to me) were from Gideon and Kyle. They’ve been best friends almost their entire lives and have been next door neighbors for the same amount of time. We follow them as they are trying to get through high school with their own set of problems.
Gideon is an incredibly smart guy and is trying to figure out the sudden change of his feelings towards Kyle. Kyle is part of the varsity basketball team, has a cheerleader girlfriend, and is struggling in his classes. Both of them are huge fans of Lord of the Rings, so if you’re one too, then you will definitely enjoy this!
I absolutely loved watching these two together. I believed their loyalty and respect towards each other deep in my body. Every time one of them said something cute, I couldn’t help but grin like a lunatic. I loved them so much that whenever things weren’t as amazing as I wanted them to be, I was tearing up and demanding for an immediate solution to it all. I was completely invested and I am forever grateful to Sandy for introducing us to them. They were spectacular and will forever hold a special place in my heart.
This book was a fast read for me so I read it in one sitting. I mostly felt like this was a little bit too light of a read for a diverse book, but no matter, I enjoyed it. I also noticed that things were resolved much too easily at some points which didn’t let me give this 5 stars. I love not knowing what to expect from a rude character but I didn’t know how to feel about the one we had in this one. All I know is that I felt like the side characters weren’t really interesting, except Gideon’s brother. They all felt 2D to me and it would have impacted my rating immensely if I wasn’t already taken by Gideon and Kyle from the start.

4.5/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

