ARC Review: We Are Still Tornadoes by Michael Kun and Susan Mullen!

29611997

Publishing November 1, 2016 by St. Martin’s Griffin!

*ARC provided by St. Martin’s in exchange for an honest review*
Let me start this review by saying that I am rarely (by rarely I mean pretty much never) a fan of stories that don’t take place in this century and aren’t told in the ‘normal’ format. I don’t have anything against these tings, it’s just that something inside of me isn’t as invested when I stumble upon them.
Now, considering this story takes place in 1982 and is written strictly in letters, it baffles me to no end that it has become one of the best stories I’ve ever read. I always respect any author (in this case, authors) that writes a story I fall in love with, but that multiplies like crazy when they manage to change my outlook on something as well. I am just glad I fell in love with the cover because if I had read the synopsis before requesting it, I don’t think I would have given this a chance; And that would have been a huge mistake on my part. I just want to take a second to thank the fictional gods for my Don’t Read the Synopsis rule. It saved me me in this case.
Also, I am winging it on this review because I was too busy enjoying the story to write anything down. (I know, I swear I can already see you shaking your head.)
This book follows Scott and Cath, two best friends who have been separated after graduating high school. Cath has gone to college out of state and Scott stayed at home, helping his father out with their clothing store.
My first impression of Cath being an amazing human being never wavered and I couldn’t be happier about it. My admiration for her only skyrocketed as I read just how seriously she took her studies. Her personality was beautiful and Scott’s only complemented it.
Scott was just… perfect, to say the least. I immediately fell in love with his sense of humor and my love only kept on growing. I loved how I could never predict what other shenanigans he would take the time to write about yet I still enjoyed them to no end. The one thing that made me even more crazy about him were his lyrics. As a former lyricist, this hit a personal chord withing me and his every lyric clawed my heart out like nobody’s business. I loved witnessing how he took a personal experience, good or bad, and made it into something tremendously beautiful.
If I had to choose, I would say that their banter and loyalty were my favorite parts. I loved both of their sense of humor but Scott’s stood out to me the most. It was unforgettable and had me clutching my stomach more often than not. As for their loyalty, there was no question whatsoever that they would always have each other’s back no matter how hard their situations got.
They both have their own unfortunate struggles to deal with and even though we never get the details I kept yearning for, their overwhelming emotions could still be felt through their written words. We get to see them try to overcome their life experiences together while still living so far from each other. Their friendship was one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever witnessed and I wish I could frame their letters and spread them all across my room to be reminded of it every single day.
This story made me feel like I was actually a part of the letter exchange due to how happy they kept on making me. This was outstandingly hilarious and utterly heart-wrenching at the same time. It made me laugh and break so much that I can’t remember not being in tears while reading it. The letters were fascinating to read but they could also get painful; In the best way. This story wasn’t all smiles and giggles and I was ran over by the ‘feels’ bulldozer too many times to count. Not only was I deeply invested in these character’s lives but I was also in love with one of them so seeing them go through things nobody should ever experience left me hollow to the core.
Let’s move on to that ending!!!! Oh, what an ending that was!!!! I was THIS close to jumping out of my skin from how giddy and fantastic it made me feel inside. I felt like screaming and celebrating like crazy but I couldn’t since it was the middle of the night and I would’ve woken up the entire neighborhood. I had to down it down to a crazy happy dance that I’m glad nobody got to see.
My only regret is not having asked for this baby sooner so I could have a physical copy and stroke it until the end of time. One beautiful day in the future, Scott and Cath will honor my bookshelves with their presence. I love those two so much that I feel like a limb is missing now that I finished their story.

6/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

