ARC Review: The Best Possible Answer by E. Katherine Kottaras!

28220719

Publication: November 1, 2016

*ARC provided by St. Martin’s in exchange for an honest review*
This was my first read by E. and I have definitely become a big fan!
This book follows Viviana, who is an academic overachiever. Her life has taken a turn for the worst after a certain ‘incident’ arose and she has to try and keep it together while everything crumbles around her. Her summer plans fall through so her best friend, Sammie, gets her a job at the community pool along with her. My heart honestly twisted painfully through most of this story.
Viviana didn’t deserve any of the things she was experiencing and it hurt to witness them. I loved how she managed to help others even when she was falling apart inside. Her character development was phenomenal and she deals with things that can be easily relatable. Forces beyond her control kept tackling her but she ended up being one of the strongest heroines I’ve read about.
I adored her friendship with Sammie. Their loyalty towards each other was more than palpable and there was no room to doubt them. My respect for their friendship was, and is, off the charts. It’s not often that such a reliable friendship shows up in books.
Usually, I don’t enjoy books this much when the romance isn’t a prominent factor, but I’m glad to say that it worked for the best. My heart may be healing from the blows it took but I still loved the story. Not only is this about coming of age, but it also stresses the fact that even adults make mistakes. And unfortunately, some of them you can’t come back from. This book tackled family drama in a way that I haven’t read before. Because of that, it left me tearing up when certain secrets came to light. They hit a sore spot within me and it wasn’t difficult to step into the shoes of the wronged.
I really enjoyed E.’s writing style. She worded certain life events into essay questions and it was a nice change of pace. I read this book in one sitting (on a roadtrip to the bay area, actually) and it was difficult to say bye. I wanted the story to keep on going and going but of course, it didn’t. This was an easy read but not easy to swallow.

4.5/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

