ARC Review: The Infinity of You and Me by J.Q. Coyle

28220701

Publication: November 8, 2016

*ARC provided by St. Martin’s in exchange for an honest review*
This is Coyle’s debut novel and I enjoyed it for the most part. I was really intrigued by the synopsis and I decided to give it a chance. That was a huge step for me since Sci-fi is definitely out of my comfort zone, and as you can see with the rating. After reading this, it’s safe to say that it still is.
This novel tackles alternate dimension travel in Alicia’s perspective. She’s almost 15 and is struggling with hallucinations which she’s being medicated for. Her father is nowhere to be seen, except for when she’s in the middle of those hallucinations. We follow her as she unravels secrets about her life.
Alicia has a best friend, Hafeez, who I adored. I loved seeing their relationship change in a different way. And when it came to Jax, I really wasn’t a fan. I just really needed to see them interact more in order to actually believe they had… feelings.
As for the ‘bad guy’, I wasn’t impressed either. It’s nothing against this novel in particular though. It’s just that when it comes to villains I have SUPER HIGH expectations, and unfortunately, this book didn’t meet them.
There were some pretty intense moments in this novel and I really liked seeing the different consequences that come with making one simple choice. This book’s told in 3 parts and as intriguing as it was, it still left a lot to be desired. I was confused more often than not, but that might just be my wariness of Sci-fi. My rating is mostly based on the fact that I loved the darker vibe this story gave me throughout it all. I’m not exactly dying to know more this story line but all in all, I’m glad I gave it a chance.

3/5 stars

Leave a Reply

