Review: Kiss Cam by Kiara London

22744933

*ARC provided from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*
This was my first read by Kiara and I went in completely blind. It took me quite a while to get into it and, by a while, I mean almost 70% of it. I didn’t start really getting into the plot line and the characters well into its last few chapters. But even then, it wasn’t really enough.
This book follows a group of 3 friends, June, Jasper, and Lenny, who are vloggers. This is the first book I’ve read about vloggers and I really wish I had liked it more. I liked the friendship dynamic for the most part but I didn’t like how unbelievably obvious/predictable the story line was.
I wasn’t a fan of our main character, June, whatsoever and that made this story more than difficult to get through. I also thought that June’s best friend was sort of a ‘meh’ character and I didn’t really understand the importance of her character.
I found this story to be repetitive in some aspects and too far ‘out there’ with others that made me not believe anything that was going on. I didn’t like how the character expressions were so easy to read and decipher. They basically told me the entire story from the very beginning and it wasn’t fun. Also, even if the facial expression issue wasn’t there, the chapter titles would have given the story away anyway. They kept making what was already obvious, even worse, and I had to ignore them in order to give myself a semblance of anticipation.
I also didn’t like how it focused so much on a lot of superficial things when I really wanted an inside look to other aspects of their lives. Romance is my favorite part in any story, yes, but there is such a thing as focusing TOO much on it, which applies to this story.
And for the positives, I liked how easy it can be for any reader to relate to this story in one way or another; The reader can be the vlogger or the subscriber.
I also really liked how Kiara managed to showcase how crazy the internet world can really be. I found this story funny at times and it’s perfect for anyone looking for a quick and light read.

3/5 stars

Leave a Reply

