Review: How to Keep a Boy from Kissing You by Tara Eglington!

30528623

*ARC provided by St. Martin’s in exchange for an honest review*
This was my first read by Tara and I am proud to admit that it most certainty won’t be my last! I am obsessed with her writing now. Also, I didn’t know that this book was part of a series until I sat down to write this so now I can’t be any more excited to read more!
This book follows Aurora who is a 16 year old aspiring author. That last fact alone had me forming a connection to her right off the bat. She’s a complete romantic at heart so of course, she takes it upon herself to do some research in the matter. We follow her as she tries to play cupid with her friends while they take part in a play and you can probably already guess how crazy things get from there. Sometimes I felt like she needed to invest in some life brakes because she just didn’t know when to stop pursuing something. But nonetheless, I really enjoyed reading her story.
I just want to quickly mention that Hayden was absolutely hilarious and I found myself falling for his personality as soon as we were introduced to him. I never knew what he would say next and I was always looking forward to more scenes from him.
This book was so over the top and ridiculous but in the best way possible. The girls and their overreactions killed me with laughter since they reminded me so much of me. This story was cute and rather obvious at some points but the events were still enjoyable to see play out. The romance included was cute and more than fulfilling for me. Tara manged to encompass all of the drama that could come along with attending high school and I found myself really invested in the story and certain characters. This was exactly what I needed to get out of a funk I was in and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is looking for the same thing!

4.5/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

