Review: Cloudwish by Fiona Wood!

28961827

*ARC provided by Little Brown in exchange for an honest review*
“How many times do you have to press down on a path before they make an imprint.”
This was my first read by Fiona and I absolutely loved it! It was the perfect amount of light with some touchy moments here and there which made me cherish it as a whole.
This book follows Van, a girl with an overwhelming obsession with Jane Eyre. I thought she was a character everyone could easily relate to, myself included, right off the bat. I utterly loved her character development and I am so sad to see her go! I found myself awfully protective of her and actively rooted for only the best to happen to her. I thought it was the least she deserved and I enjoyed seeing things play out with herself and with those around her.
We also get to witness her attracting the attention of a very self-centered member of the rowing team, Billy. She starts to wonder if one of her wishes had anything to do with it and if to trust Billy’s sudden attention. Billy’s the type of guy to do anything for a laugh which makes him and Van an interesting duo to. In the end of it all, I grew to really like Billy and appreciate him as a character.
This story was really cute but, sadly, I devoured it in one sitting. On a random note, I felt like there was a sort of fantasy feel to everything which made me love it even more. I can’t wait to read everything else by Fiona now that I’ve gotten a taste of her writing!

4/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

