Review: Killmore by Martha Sweeney!

26833837

*ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review*
“You become a changed person when you face the reaper and deny him your soul.”
This was my fourth novel by Martha and I massively enjoyed it! These characters quickly had me falling in love with them and have yet to let me g, they might just be my favorite yet! It seems as if their grip only tightened after reading the last word in this book. I need the second book so bad, I am going crazy!
This book follows Laurie, a woman in witness protection, and Aiden who is a fed. We get both of their point of views and I didn’t know what to expect from these characters, or anyone, at all. I didn’t know who to trust which kept me on my toes. This made my reading experience a memorable one.
I absolutely loved Laurie’s friendship with Trudy. For a side character, Trudy managed to steal my love almost instantaneously as well as the others. I can’t wait to read more about her as well! Laurie is super strong-headed when it comes to love and definitely gave Aiden a run for his money. Her past made my heart ache because it was so dark. I don’t wish her experiences on anyone and since she felt so real to me, I felt like a close friend of mine was going through it. For a moment there, I didn’t know if I was able to make it to the end of the book because of how hard it impacted me.
Aiden was just the best male character ever! I loved his personality and everything else. He’s hilarious and just all around amazing. I completely enjoyed watching their relationship change from the start.
One of the comments I have is that I didn’t like how for a woman in witness protection, too many people seemed to know who she really was. I thought NOBODY was supposed to know your real identity, ever, no matter what? I also seemed to foresee some things that were about to happen or be revealed which made certain events fall under ‘anti-climactic’.
Anyway, no matter what book you read from Martha, you can always expect some insanely strong females and some amazing men. Laurie was no exception with the savage mouth on her and her strong will; she was a force to be reckoned with and I absolutely admired her for it. A lot of Aiden’s actions made me ache with jealousy because I didn’t have him in MY life. The book had an amazing beginning, a slow middle, but a crazy end. The last few chapters made me tear up so much and made my heart pound like crazy. I am so attached to these two that I am counting down the minutes until the release for book 2!

4/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

