Review: Duality by J. Kowallis!

30301938

*ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review*
Even though this is the third book in the series, it still sparked the same amount of devastation and devotion as the previous 2 books did. Kowallis’ writing is so incredibly addicting that I noticed my heart was breaking even before I had finished the first chapter. She has an effortless way to lure you into her world even when it’s the worst place imaginable for anyone. These stories are told in so many point of views yet Kowallis somehow manages to make the next as intriguing as the last, if not more. The last book ended in such a heartbreaking cliffhanger that I was beyond scared to find out what else Kowallis had in store for us. Let’s just say that my terror was not without reason.
This book was nothing short of brutality and gut wrenching chaos. I honestly don’t know what to say that I haven’t said before in the last two reviews for Kowallis. Every character brought the worst and best of each other and the plot line just kept getting more intense by the second.
I finally found out who I was most like from this series and that was Ransley. She’s a badass fire-weaving fighter who is struggling to find out what is real and what isn’t, in her heart and around her. Her internal struggle is where our similarities seemed to mold together plus the fact that we both speak Spanish. I couldn’t appreciate the role that Spanish played in this book enough. Ransley is my twin and I’m not just saying that because I am madly and completely in love with her beautiful, smart-mouthed, duplicating bad boy boyfriend, Roydon. He made the book for me and I can’t wait to see more of him.
We also have Reggie, our beloved character that is struggling with horrendous visions and whose point of views were the most excruciating of them all. Nate, who is putting his life on the line to save the love of his life. Liam, who I despised from the very beginning and who managed to duplicate my hatred for him every step of the way. All of their awful situations felt so raw and real and they even had the most realistic consequences. My heart just kept aching for them all and I couldn’t stop crying once I got to the last half of the book.
After everything started hitting the fan at the end, I found myself knowing exactly what was about to happen in some places, and taken completely by surprise in others. I didn’t want to continue the story anymore after that but I couldn’t stop reading in the chance that I would be proved wrong. (I wasn’t.)… Kowallis knows how to torture her readers as much as her characters.
Even though this world is absolute torture-in-a-book, I still find myself asking for more. I need the last book asap and all I ask is that justice better be served!

5/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

