ARC Review: The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles!

22296822

Publishes: January 31, 2017!

*ARC provided by Bloomsbury in exchange for an honest review*
“How could it be that the thing that made him strong, also brought him to his knees.”
This was my first read by Giles and I enjoyed it so much that I am pretty disappointed in myself for not having picked this baby up any sooner. This book is told between two perspectives and was split into fours parts. I absolutely loved how distinctive the voices of these two characters were.
I felt like Zoe was one of the most likable heroines ever. Her and her family are struggling with grief and I absolutely loved the dynamic between them. I became obsessed with her little brother, Jonah, in a non-creepy way. I kept looking forward to what other ridiculousness he would do or say. I couldn’t help but feel protective of the little adorable guy and I just wanted to hug him all the time. All I hope is that my kid resembles him in some way, in the future.
And then we have X, who is not your typical bounty hunter from hell. His powers are one of the most unique ones I’ve read about and my crush on him was basically completely formed with the first sighting I had of him. I thought his character development was incredible.
These two characters live in such completely different worlds that they should have never even crossed paths. But a storm brought them together and changed their lives forever. My respect for these two was off the charts. All the things they went through and learned from was beautiful, and at the same time, heartbreaking to witness.
Jeff’s writing style was quirky and I loved how he didn’t sugar coat many things. There was some savagery that took place and I loved every minute of it. This story got intense very quickly and was immensely intriguing from cover to cover. Some of the brutality in this novel made me tear up and feel for everyone caught in the crossfire. I predicted a few of the things that came to pass but other than that, I don’t have any bad things to say about this book. I will most definitely be rereading this baby sometime in the near future. There were some memorable characters and that ending was utterly bittersweet. The only thing left that I have to say is that there better be a sequel!!

4.5/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

