Review: Pretty Little World by LaBan and Melissa DePino

30848593

*ARC provided by Little Bird publicity in exchange for an honest review*
This was my first read by these two authors and I was definitely intrigued ever since I first read the synopsis. This book is about 3 different families that live in houses that are side-by-side who decide to literally tear down the walls keeping them apart. As soon as I read the synopsis, I was expecting a lot of drama and my expectations were met for the most part. The characters gave me a bad feeling in my stomach right off the bat with the foreshadowing.
I read this book in one sitting; It was easy to get through but not easy to swallow. A lot of the behavior these characters took part in was completely unacceptable and I have to admit, some of them hurt me as if it was personal. The lines between these relationships blur so much and we are made to witness them without being able to help in any way. One relationship out of the 3 impacted me the most. So much so that I’m still reeling from how it ended. I won’t go into detail but I just wanted to mention how torn I was about it. I can’t imagine going through what this character did and I hope I never do. It is one of my worst fears, as it is for a lot of us, and I was made to see it play out. It was painful and soul-wrecking.
Besides all the wrongdoing, I really loved how each relationship was very distinct from each other. There were 3 different dynamics that were easy to follow. The ending most definitely has me asking for a sequel. That cliffhanger was completely out of the blue for me since I had already accepted the terms I thought the book was going to end in. But no, I was left reeling even more from a last punch Elizabeth and Melissa decided to throw in. Even though I was sympathetic to a certain character, I gave this a low rating because I couldn’t really relate to them as they were double my age. All in all, I am very glad I gave this book a try and I can’t wait to see what else these authors have in store for us.

3.5 stars!

 

Leave a Reply

