Review: The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich!

28118532

This was my first read by Dawn and it will most definitely NOT be my last. Dawn has officially become one of my favorite authors of all time after reading this masterpiece.
This book is about an ongoing investigation of a fire that broke out and claimed a high school plus events that led to the death of 3 students before it. The suspect is, Kaitlyn, Carly’s alter ego who is referred to as ‘the girl of nowhere.’ The backstory to these two characters was a first to me since we Carly is only out in the day and Kaitlyn at night. It has been two decades since the fire happened when Kaitlyn’s journal is found amidst the rubble. The journal itself is one of my absolute favorite additions to a story that I have ever read. The video footage and articles only added to an already mesmerizing story.
I fell in love with Kaitlyn right off the bat and nothing ever changed that, unless it was to make me fall harder. My heart broke for her time and time again. Her personality was so genuine to me and her protectiveness only made her that much more appealing. Carly was a bit meh but I don’t really blame her. Kaitlyn was a phenomenal character and anybody paled in comparison.
I was completely taken aback by Dawn’s mind. I loved it so much that a part of me was jealous for not having written this work of art myself. It was captivating, resonantly creepy, visually pleasing, heart-breaking, and so much more. The twists and turns had me gasping and screeching out loud throughout the entire experience. My heart almost beat out of its chest and I just couldn’t read fast enough. I was completely terrified of how this book would end but I couldn’t look away either. We were kept guessing for most of the story until bombshell after bombshell was thrown at us. It was fantastically brutal, macabre, and deliciously disturbing. There are so many unanswered questions as well which have my mind spinning within itself trying to figure it all out.
It’s ironic, really, how I started and finished this book on Christmas. (That’s me in a nutshell. I desperately cling on to Halloween 365 days of the year.) I will never ever forget the amount of happiness this book brought me. I just wanted to crawl inside the pages and live in there forever, still do. Reading this has become my most favorite experience of my life and I have not stopped thinking about it since I read the first word. I felt as if this book was written especially for me since my love for haunted buildings and creepy stories knows no bounds. I desperately need to explore this school myself.

5/5 stars!

2 responses to “Review: The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich!

  1. “I desperately cling on to Halloween 365 days of the year.” – Haha! Relatable. What better way to spend the year than dipping toes in the paranormal, right? The book sounds intriguing. I may have to go read snippets of it in Amazon Kindle. Thanks for the review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

