Review: On Second Thought by Kristan Higgins!

29095428

*ARC provided by Little Bird publishing in exchange for an honest review*
This was my first read by Kristan Higgins and I can’t believe it’s taking me so long to find her.
This book follows Ainsley and Kate, two not-so-close half sisters who are both dealing with different shades of grief. We get both of their point of views and they were intriguing with unique voices. I couldn’t connect to them as much as I wish I had since they were well into their 30’s but I absolutely loved their character developments.
There were a few problems I had with this book, one being that the dialogue got a little ridiculous at times. I really wished the characters had taken a couple breaks since most of what they said didn’t even register. I also foresaw a few things but it didn’t really take away from the experience of seeing them play out.
My favorite character in this novel goes to Daniel, hands down. He’s making me want to read this novel again all by himself, (If there is ever a book concentrated in his POV, I shall bet the first in line to read it) which I most definitely will in the near future so I can see him again. He has officially taken part in of the FUNNIEST bookish conversations I’ve ever read.
The second part of this novel had me giddy and smiling like a lunatic nonstop. I couldn’t tear my eyes away once I passed that threshold and I didn’t even try to. I absolutely loved how these two sisters found solace in the most unlikely of people. The turn of events couldn’t have made me any happier. I felt 99.9% fulfilled after reading this novel and it’s one of the best feelings ever. That ending left tears in my eyes and warmed my heart to no end. This was one of the rare novels that touched me so deeply, it gave me a much needed ray of hope for my own love life. It goes without saying that the epilogue was beyond beautiful and perfect. If you can dive into this without reading its synopsis AT ALL, do so. I completely recommend diving in without knowing anything.
It’s not everyday when your own review makes you want to pick up a book again right away but this novel is in a league of its own.

4.5/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

