Review: The Crown’s Dog by Elise Kova!

32486827

I was lucky enough to Beta read this story for Elise a few moths ago but I decided to wait until after it was published so I could review it more fairly. I spent all of today rereading it and refreshing my memory so I could finally upload this, so here we go!
This is the first installment in the prequel trilogy that focuses on the Golden Guard that we originally meet in the Air Awakens series. This story is dual POV and follows our beloved Jax and his good friend, Erion. Jax is the flirty male character with a super dark past while Erion is battling his own guilt over his role in his friendship with the Crown.
This novella was a highly welcome breath of fresh air into my life. I rarely get to read a novel/novella that is told in only male perspectives so I ate it all up like there was no tomorrow. We follow these two main characters along with our wonderful Baldair as they get into trouble that always seems to follow them wherever they go. I was completely intrigued to say the least by their dynamic and the weight of their loyalty for each other. It seemed to seep into their every word and their every action. Also, I will never turn down the chance to get a deeper look into the side characters that made the Air Awakens series as unforgettable as it was. I even enjoyed the cameo of a certain Crown Prince that I can’t, and will never, get out of my head (and heart).
Elise Kova has done what she does best yet again. She sucks you in from the very first word, forcing you to forget entirely about reality. She reopened old wounds while also creating new ones with every flip of the page. The humor in this book was so perfectly woven in that I was in tears from laughing so hard. This story was deliciously suspenseful and arose so many more questions that have yet to be answered. I need to get my hands on the second book because I’m dying to know more about this setting. We are introduced to new places in the continent that we didn’t get to see in the original series and Kova seamlessly managed to explain it all with such vivid detail that I felt like I was in the middle of all the action. Speaking of action, we get it throughout the book almost nonstop, but the end was the best. It was more than intense and it had my heart almost hammering out of my chest.
The book itself is absolutely gorgeous, just like the others. The interior design is as breathtaking as the exterior which does immense justice to the story within. We also have a couple new maps to drool over in order to follow the story even better. If you love murder mysteries and pirates, I highly recommend this novella for you! I also hope you read the original series because there are so many emotions running rampant through me right now as I revisited this world that I’m sure will hit you as well.

5/5 stars!

One response to “Review: The Crown’s Dog by Elise Kova!

Leave a Reply

