My second Q&A!!

monday


Questions taken from Instagram:

Jade:

*What is your favorite genre to read?

My favorite genre to read is romance! I am a sucker for it and I will 99.9% pick up a book if the synopsis hints towards a romance happening amidst the plot.

*What is your least favorite genre to read?

My least favorite genre to read is non-fiction. I have only ever read 2 books that have been non-fiction, and although I enjoyed both, (one was romance, the other was about a serial killer) I will not actively seek them out.

If we’re talking about genres under the fiction branch, I would have to go with historical, especially war times. I have no interest whatsoever when it comes to books that are set in historical/war times. I did enjoy the Gemma Doyle trilogy though, which is historical but I won’t actively seek this genre out to save my life either.

I’d also like to add that Sci-fi intimidates me to no end. My mind will most likely NOT understand it, no matter how hard I try. But I have enjoyed some Sci-Fi in the past from  J. Kowallis and Theresa Kay but I’m still intimidated when I first open their pages.

——

Rachel:

*What were some of your favorite books from last year?

Some of my favorite books of last year have to be the following. Keep in mind, I gave all of these over 5 stars and they might have been released earlier than last year.

(No particular order)

-A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

-Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

-Roseblood by A.G. Howard

-Earth’s End, Water’s Wrath, & The Alchemists of Loom by Elise Kova

-The Radius of Us by Marie Marquardt

-Moon Chosen by P.C. Cast

-We Are Still Tornadoes by Michael Kun

-The Summer that Melted Everything by Tiffany McDaniel

*What advice do you have for bookstagrammers wanting to have more creative posts?

My advice would be: Invest in props. Lots of props.

Props are everything when it comes to more creative posts, at least it is for me. Anything, and I mean ANYthing, can be a prop if you use it right. I usually dedicate a day where I go and search for all the props I can find (Halloween related, in my case) and it pays off for as long as I want them to last. I’ve been using the same props in my feed since for over a year now and I have yet to grow tired of them. I do place them differently to add some distinction, so that could be another thing I recommend. Also, I love to make use of all the space that I have. I don’t do simple. If I see a clear spot, I find a way to fill it up and make it look not-so-out-of-place. That could come in handy when you’re trying to be more creative as well. Just make sure you have enough props to fill in those gaps and you’re golden.

——

Heather:

*What’s your least favorite story line?

Oh my goodness. This is such a good question! I am SO over the story line where a sibling goes missing and the main character has to go find them. I don’t know, I just have had enough. Once in a blue moon there will come an author that gives it a fresh twist that has me begging for more (Caraval by Stephanie Garber) but other than that, I will roll my eyes and not enjoy the story whatsoever. If I were in their shoes, of course I would go save my sibling but it’s a story line that is used waaaaay too often, that it makes me want to shake the author and tell them to do something else.

*What is your favorite story line?

My favorite story line… hmmm. I’ve never flat out admitted this- it’s been hinted in my reviews before- but my favorite story line has to b: forbidden love. All the angst that those two words encompass on their own is so addicting that I will ALWAYS pick up a book with a forbidden romance in it. I will never, ever, say no to it. Be it teacher/student, step siblings, older man, affairs/someone else’s man, etc. I will dive in with absolute giddy excitement. Call me weird, doesn’t matter, but that is what I enjoy the most. I love experiencing the different ways that the authors resolve these issues and I hope to one day try my hand in one.

——

Fariha:

How do you choose which books you would like to read? Like your personal preference or cover/author, etc.?

I judge the book by its cover, 100%. I will never apologize for it since it’s the first thing I see whenever I pick up a book and that first impression is what I will always trust. If the cover is not pretty, I will not give it a second chance unless the synopsis blows me away. I have yet to see it happen but I won’t rule it out either.

As for authors, I don’t really pay attention to the author when I’m considering a book. More often than not, I can’t even tell you who wrote the book. But my auto buy authors are, and will always be, Sarah J. Maas and Elise Kova. All the covers that both of them have are always phenomenal so I know I will always buy them because of that. But I will also buy them because they are my Queens and I want everything that they create.


Question taken from Facebook:

Jacqueline E. Smith

Are you going to write a book?

YES!! I have been working on my own series since I was a sophomore in high school (2009/2010) and I’ve been creating, editing, and re-editing since. I won’t say much about it, but it will be an Urban Fantasy saga! I think I’ll be going the indie route though since I want full control over my covers and everything in between. I already have things in mind for all of the books and I can’t wait to see them come to life! Also, my characters have been hounding me every single day and I’m absolutely obsessed with them. I seriously can’t wait for everyone to meet them and fall in love with them as well! I am not writing ‘seriously’ right now, just notes here and there, since I’m waiting until I have my own personal computer. Only then will I dive into my world and write like there’s no tomorrow.

I do want to say though that this won’t see the light until years, and years to come. I want to start my author career with romance novels since that is the audience I want to target. I will mainly be writing romance novels so fantasy might not be what I always write., but who knows, may I’ll surprise myself.


Thank you so much guys for all of the questions and I hope to do this again soon!

I would love for you to show some love to everyone mentioned in this post!

 

 

Leave a Reply

