Review + $150 Giveaway: Something in the Way by Jessica Hawkins!

rb-banner

Title: Something in the Way

Author: Jessica Hawkins

Genre: Contemporary Romance/Forbidden

Cover Design: RBA Designs : Romantic Book Affairs
Photography: Perrywinkle Photography

Release Date: February 27, 2017


SYNOPSIS:

 98cf653b284128a8d1434d90b7a34702a4be6fe1

It was a hot summer day when I met him on the construction site next to my parents’ house. Under the sweat and dirt, Manning Sutter was as handsome as the sun was bright. He was older, darker, experienced. I wore a smiley-face t-shirt and had never even been kissed. Yet we saw something in each other that would link us in ways that couldn’t be broken…no matter how hard we tried.

 

I loved Manning before I knew the meaning of the word. I was too young, he said. I would wait. Through all the carefully-chosen words hiding what we knew to be true, through his struggle to keep me innocent, and through infinitely-starry nights—I would wait. But I’d learn that life isn’t always fair. That no matter how much you achieve, none of it matters if you suffer the heartbreak that comes with falling for someone you can never have. Because even though I saw Manning first, that didn’t matter. My older sister saw him next.


 MY REVIEW:

1db28f95e8cb8a2e81e03af991c0f5cae9027f4e

*ARC provided by Give Me Books Promotions in exchange for an honest review*
“My world had been so dark before her. It worried me how far I’d go to keep that light in my life.”
As soon as I had this ARC in my possession, I dropped everything I was doing in order to start it. It had already overtaken my entire being as soon as the synopsis dropped. Who cares if I was dealing with a headache and needed to go to sleep in order to go to work in a few hours. My heart and mind didn’t care, so I started it immediately and it was the best decision I ever made… for the most part. Since I cried myself to sleep after the last page it was a bittersweet decision more than anything.
This story is a dual POV that follows Lake at age 16, and Manning at age 23. Lake has become one of the most adorable characters I’ve ever read about. She had me laughing so hard and admiring her mind from the very first few pages and that opinion never went away. Her humor alone made me fall in love with her right off the bat and had me invested in her feelings 100%.
Manning stole my heart from the first moment I saw him as well. His tragic background tore at me with all its might and I just wanted to take his pain away so he could smile his sexy smile, and laugh his sexy laugh more often. Their souls were just so beautiful and perfect for each other that I was rooting for them to get together at every turn of the page.
Also, I hate Lake’s sister. I won’t even name her because she doesn’t deserve it. So these sentences are all she’s getting in my review.
I had an immense disliking for myself throughout this story since as I kept reading, I was getting myself that much closer to the end… but I just couldn’t stop. The way Jessica brought their emotions and thoughts to life was staggering. Her writing is so addicting, it pulls at every fiber of your being until you’re entirely consumed and turned into a puppet. The characters have invaded my mind and soul and they’will never get out; They’ve made their home in there and I don’t have the strength to kick them out. I had an anxious, turning-of-the-stomach feeling for the most part of the story. Even though I was giddy with excitement in some moments, the bad feeling never went away. I was completely terrified of whatever Jessica threw their way and it was more than justified. I was NOT ready for that ending and every word kept ripping me apart until I couldn’t take it anymore. I am still in denial about it all. HOW COULD THAT HAVE HAPPENED!?!?! My mind is reeling with theories when usually a book just has it on pause until the second book releases. The theories I have in my mind are killing me and I need to know if they’ll come to light!!
This story was not only a masterpiece because of the flawless execution but because it resonated with me in the most personal way. I grew up in love with an older man and I was transported to the past from the very first word. I was 15 when I started to fall for the guy and that was only a year younger than Lake. Because of our similar experiences, I just wanted to step into the pages and give Lake some advice. I saw that her age and innocence poured into her every action and I wanted to help her grasp the situation more firmly. With that said, she also showed a maturity that’s to be admired.
This is going to be a trilogy and as I am already dying with the first one, I’m immensely terrified of what the other 2 have in store for me. But at the same time, I want them in my hands asap! Jessica has rocked my world and I can’t wait until May 22 for ‘Somebody Else’s Sky’ to come out. That title alone has me shaking my head at all the pain that it is to come my way.
“You can’t move the stars. Manning and I were inevitable.”

6/5 stars!


GOODREADS LINK:

adc657eea22ae888dba96e1fdbea13732c7f39d7

[HERE]


PURCHASE LINKS:

something-in-the-way-now-available

 [US] [UK[CA]

[AU[B&N]

 [Kobo[iBooks] [Google Play]

9a98c33023709ac984fa8db1ddb6229ed74bca96


AUTHOR BIO:

 1657499

Jessica Hawkins grew up between the purple mountains and under the endless sun of Palm Springs, California. She studied international business at Arizona State University and has also lived in Costa Rica and New York City. To her, the most intriguing fiction is forbidden, and that’s what you’ll find in her stories. Currently, she resides wherever her head lands, which is often the unexpected (but warm) keyboard of her trusty MacBook.


 AUTHOR LINKS:

055f5b2f99258484c96e523054f1740472a41cc4

 [Amazon] [Facebook] [Website[Twitter]

 [Instagram] [Bookbub] [Pinterest]

[Goodreads]

——

DON’T MISS OUT ON ANYTHING JESSICA HAWKINS!

Sign up for her Mailing List!

 [HERE] 


 Jessica has two generous giveaways going on that amount to $150!

i975

Click here for:

[$50 Giveaway]

——

i102

Click here for:

[$100 Giveaway]

Leave a Reply

