Review & Giveaway: Under the Bleachers by K.K. Allen!

16649439_831947480286814_5895535347506758636_n

SYNOPSIS:

One kiss can change everything.

Fun and flirty Monica Stevens lives for chocolate, fashion, and boys … in that order. And she doesn’t take life too seriously, especially when it comes to dating. When a night of innocent banter with Seattle’s hottest NFL quarterback turns passionate, she fears that everything she once managed to protect will soon be destroyed.

Seattle’s most eligible bachelor, Zachary Ryan, is a workaholic by nature, an undercover entrepreneur, and passionate about the organizations he supports. He’s also addicted to Monica, the curvy brunette with a sassy mouth—and not just because she tastes like strawberries and chocolate. She’s as challenging as she is decadent, as witty as she is charming, and she’s the perfect distraction from the daily grind.

While Monica comes to a crossroads in her life, Zachary becomes an unavoidable obstacle, forcing her to stop hiding under the bleachers and confront the demons of her past. But as their connection grows stronger, she knows it only brings them closer to their end.

It’s time to let go.

To have a future, we must first deal with our pasts. But what if the two are connected?

[Goodreads]

——

PURCHASE LINKS:

 [Amazon US] [Amazon UK]


MY REVIEW:

utb-amazon

*ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review*
“What I’m looking for is a way to accept my past, because until I do, I won’t be able to accept my future.”
This was my second read by K.K. Allen and I loved it! I was super excited to dive back into the world of these characters especially since a few of my all time favorite characters, Chloe and Gavin, made appearances from ‘Up in the Treehouse.’
This book is told in dual POV and it follows Monica, Chloe’s friend, and Zachary, an NFL Quarterback. I really enjoyed Monica’s humor and flirtatious ways. I loved how she was different than other main characters. She’s actively NOT looking for a relationship and won’t be easily thrown into one. I admired her independence and unapologetic attitude. I also loved witnessing her at her worst because it proved to me just how well rounded of a character she was. She kept so many secrets about her past that I couldn’t sympathize with her until they were forced into the spotlight. She may have been an adult when we met her but she did a lot of growing throughout the chapters.
And Zachary, oh man. What can I say about him that I haven’t already said about every other male character? He stole my heart, as I knew he would. His sensitivity and resilience astounded me to no end. I absolutely loathed how he was treated at various stages of his life, but the fact that his heart of gold remained intact throughout it all, had me drooling with pride. He kept bringing tears to my eyes whenever his feelings would get hurt since I took every blow personally. In my mind, he deserved to be treated with adoration, respect, and everything nice. So much so, that at some points, I didn’t think Monica was right for him.
One of the things I love about Allen, is that her characters are always so… full. They feel so real that they always leave me with a sense of fulfillment that is rare to find in other books. As a reviewer, I try to purposely figure out things I don’t like about characters, but it’s the most difficult thing to do when reading Allen’s books. For example, I thought I disliked Monica, but as it turns out, I was only fooling myself. As soon as I witnessed the reasons behind the actions that pissed me off, my respect for her only grew. Also, as a reviewer, I love to be proven wrong about my initial reactions and Allen has that down to a T.
Monica’s and Zach’s worlds collide in the most obvious of ways and also, in the most unexpected of ways. Allen had some phenomenal plot twists up her sleeve and they hit me hard. I was in denial for a bit, until I actually saw the aftermath of the explosion that was ‘the whole truth.’ K.K. wove this story so beautifully that I can’t wait until the next installment! I have a slight idea of what characters it will follow next and I am so excited! There are still some loose ends that need to be tied up and I can’t wait to witness them.

4/5 stars!


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

8301757

K.K. Allen is a Contemporary Romance & Fantasy Author, University of Washington Alumni, and Seattle Seahawk fan!!

At age twelve, K.K. picked up a pen and wrote her first novel, a YA rockstar romance that will never see the light of day 🙂 She continued filling notebooks until she was finally ready to share her work with the world.

K.K. lives in central Florida with her son, works as a Digital Producer managing website development projects, and loves to attend signings around the area when she can! You can find all upcoming event dates and other information at: www.kk-allen.com.


SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS:

[Facebook] [Newsletter] [Amazon]

[Instagram] [Facebook Group]

[Goodreads]


GIVEAWAY:

16825740_831301050351457_4739828595132524867_o

WIN PAPERBACK COPIES OF ‘Up In the Treehouse’ AND ‘Under the Bleachers’!

Click [HERE] to enter!

