Review: Seven Days of You by Cecilia Vinesse

s26138370

*ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review*
This was Cecilia’s debut novel and I felt like it could have used some more work. I was INSANELY excited to read this novel since it takes place in one of the best settings a book could ever have… Tokyo!!!!! I am absolutely obsessed with Asian culture and I was underwhelmed. I think my excitement was my downfall since this book didn’t really give my obsession justice. My favorite parts of the novel were witnessing the different shops and the difference of city life in Tokyo vs. the US. Tokyo is a city I want to live in really badly and I felt like this book at least gave me a glimpse into that life without leaving my room. For that, I gave it 1.5 stars.
The other 1.5 stars went to Jamie, the only character I liked from this story. Every other character, especially the main one, needed a lot of work in every way possible.
I couldn’t relate to any of the characters, mostly due to they way they acted and how the mc thought about things, if at all. She didn’t rub me the right way at all. Her emotions were irrational and hard to keep up with. She jumped from emotion to emotion so fast that it would be a miracle if you didn’t get whiplash from it. Because of that, I didn’t believe things she felt or said. I’ve read about many, many characters her age that were eons more mature than she was and I didn’t enjoy reading through her perspective. The way she acted out and dealt with her experiences astounded me in a bad way. She was absolutely reckless. I actually liked her sister way better and really wished the book were in her perspective instead.
I felt like the plot line was rushed. A lot can happen in 7 days and it felt like this book barely grazed its potential. The ending was a bit bittersweet but I would only like to revisit Jamie, if I could.