Review: First Grave on the Right by Darynda Jones!

9732753

*Review copy provided by St. Martin’s Press in exchange for an honest review*
This was my first read by Darynda and I have been hearing sooo many good things about this series that it landed on my tbr pile fairly quickly. A publicist over at SMP also pitched the series to me since this is one of her favorites and agreed to send me the first 9 books. For that, I am, and will be, forever thankful!!!
From the very first page, I already knew I was going to love this series. The main character, Charlie, is so sassy, I can’t even handle it. The ridiculous things she said and thought had me tearing up from all the laughing. The fact that it centers around ghosts (my absolute favorite topic of all time) and everything paranormal scored massive points in my book. Throw in a dark, menacing, and sexy male… You bet I was a goner before I even made it to the end of the first chapter. I’ve also always been fascinated by murder cases so Charlie being a PI/ Grim Reaper kept adding to the appreciation I already harbored. I honestly can’t wait to see more of her development play through, She has so much untapped potential that I can’t even fathom where it will lead next.
Darynda’s writing is supper addictive and it kept me from letting reality sink in. I refused to go to sleep until I finished this book, which was around 5 in the morning. There were so many ups and downs that I can’t even imagine what else the rest of the books have in store. I have no regrets where this book is concerned except for the fact that it took me so long to pick it up. This book’s the perfect blend of steamy, suspenseful, and heartbreaking. I’m soo glad I have the next 8 books in my possession, they should last me for a bit. I hope.

4/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

