Review: Second Grave on the Left by Darynda Jones!

12159329

*Review copy provided by St. Martin’s Press in exchange for an honest review*
Ahhh!!! This series will be the death of me, no pun intended. I am absolutely obsessed with it and I hope it never, ever ends. Darynda has officially become one of my favorite authors and this is only the second book I’ve read by her.
Anyway, I am still reeling from having just finished book 3 so I will try and bring my feelings back from a book ago. This book takes place a week after the chaos that happened at the end of book 1. It starts right into the suspense and I couldn’t read fast enough.
I love that as memorable Charlie is, so are the side characters. I can call them up from memory at the snap of a finger and it’s really rare when that happens to me. Usually the side character’s names fade away after I have finished a book, but I’m so glad that’s not the case here. I am as invested in their lives as I am Charlie’s. Also, I want to be Charlie’s best friend pretty bad, I hope it comes true someday. I really love how accident prone she is, it always reminds me a bit of myself, and I love nothing more than relating to a character’s pain haha.
Also, I keep shipping Charlie with other sexy male characters that aren’t Reyes and I don’t know why. Maybe I like the drama it would stir, or something. But I won’t name them, I’ll let you guys meet them and decide for yourself who I’m talking about. Don’t let that sentence fool you though, Reyes is the ultimate babe in this story and THEY NEED TO BE TOGETHER BY THE END OR I WILL RAGE. I just won’t mind Charlie having a few flings before it comes to that. Nope, I won’t mind that at all.
This book made my heart ache so much, and those last chapters made me tear up bad. I am pretty disappointed in myself because of one thing that happened at the end. I should’ve seen that ending coming but I was so immersed in the story that my mind refused to wander away from the words I was currently reading. It was like not seeing a slap coming your way until their fingers were about to hit you on the cheek. That’s exactly how I felt from the very first word of this novel, to the last.

4.5/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

