Review: The Animal Under the Fur by E.J. Mellow!

32623625

*ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review*
This book follows Nashville, an A+ human with enhanced abilities, and Carter, an immediate rival of hers. This was a dual POV story and I loved being in both of their minds. They each had their own voice and I enjoyed ever second of them.
Nashville was incredibly badass and I admired how she didn’t shy away from a kill. She knew what was expected of her and she delivered no matter what. I really hope to see more characters like her in the near future. I love it when main characters make me cheer them on as intensely as she did.
Carter is absolutely ridiculous, in the best of ways. It took me a while to put my finger on my opinion of him but eventually, he had me cracking up and ashamed that I ever doubted him.
A couple of negative things I have to say is that as much as I really liked the characters, I lacked a personal connection to any of them. I felt a wall between us and it impacted my reading experience more than I wanted it to. Another thing I have to point out is that I am a grammar Nazi when it comes to novels using my first language as a part of their story: Spanish. It was used in this book but not in the way that made any sense. It wasn’t being translated right and it erupted another wall between the characters and me. I just couldn’t get past it so I docked a star for it. There were also some plot twists that I saw coming so the shock factor wasn’t as great as it could have been.
With that said, I loved how short the chapters were so it turned into a quick read. I also really liked how the story wrapped up in the end.

3.5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

