Review: The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord!

30038906

*ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review*
“… I hope for strength. Because as much as I want to be the one crying, I want to be the kind of person someone can hold onto.”
This was my first Lord novel and I can’t wait to read more from her. This book takes place over the course of 5 months, as Lucy is dealing with cancer in her family and a breakup. I won’t go into further detail than that. I’ll just let you make the decision of how deep to dig before going in.
Lucy’s dynamic with her parents was one I very much admired throughout it all. She knew just how precious the moments she spent with them were so she never let them go to waste. I loved how mature she could be for her age meanwhile still falling victim to it as well. She was cute/adorable at times but there were a few in there where I wanted to make her see reason. We see a more modern take on Christianity through her eyes and I enjoyed being witness to it. We also follow her as life starts to make her doubt everything, including her faith. We also get to be by her side as she learns who the right people are that should be in her life, and those who shouldn’t. I was super empathetic to her situation and I am super proud of how far she’s gotten since page 1.
I really loved the clean romance in this book. I won’t mention any names but seeing Lucy with HIM always brought tears to my eyes because how perfect they were for each other. They deserve more than all the happiness in the world together.
The reason why I didn’t give this 5 stars was because it took me almost half the book to from an actual attachment to Lucy. I didn’t even notice until that last page hit me in the face. I didn’t want to let go. I wanted, needed, more! I won’t go into detail about the why, but let’s just say that I wasn’t satisfied with that ending!!

4.5 stars!