Release Day Blitz & Review: Somebody Else’s Sky by Jessica Hawkins!

RB Banner

Title: Somebody Else’s Sky

Series: Something in the Way #2

Author: Jessica Hawkins

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Release Date: May 22, 2017 


BLURB 

18582651_1870078866650534_322696560138050061_n

Book two in the Something in the Way series, an epic, 3-book saga of forbidden love…

If I closed my eyes, I could still see them—all blonde sunshine, ocean-blue eyes, and long limbs. The glint of Lake’s gold bracelet. Pink cotton candy on Tiffany’s tongue. My scenery may have changed from heaven to hell, but some things never would: my struggle to do right by both sisters. To let Lake soar. To lift Tiffany up. The sacrifices I made for them, I made willingly.

A better man would’ve walked away by now, but I never claimed to be any good. I only promised myself I’d keep enough distance. If I’d learned one thing from my past, it was that love came in different forms. You could love passionately, hurt deep, die young. Or you could provide the kind of firm, steady support someone else could lean on. 

Lake was everything I wanted, and nothing I could ever have. I was nobody before I knew her and a criminal after. The way to love her was to let her shine—even if it would be for somebody else. 

[GOODREADS LINK]


 PURCHASE LINKS:

 

 [Amazon US[Amazon UK] [Amazon CA[Amazon AU] 

[Barnes & Noble] [Kobo][iBooks] 

[Google Play]


 ALSO AVAILABLE IN THE SOMETHING IN THE WAY SERIES 

#1 Something in the Way

Something in the Way Ebook Cover

[Amazon US] [Amazon UK[Amazon CA[Amazon AU]

[Barnes & Noble[Kobo] [iBooks]

[Google Play]


 COMING SOON

#3 Move the Stars –

Pre-order for October 23, 2017 

 Move the Stars Cover Coming Soon

 [Amazon US[Amazon UK] [Amazon CA[Amazon AU]

[Barnes & Noble] [Kobo[iBooks]

[Google Play] 


MY REVIEW:

 *ARC provided in exchange for an honest review*
“… I was in love with someone who might never be mine.”
As soon as I found out that ARC’s were being sent out for this book, I kept refreshing and refreshing the content on my Kindle for mine to show up. I couldn’t contain my excitement of finally knowing how my poor Lake was faring after the MAJOR cliffhanger that was SITW. . So the moment I saw this ARC pop up in my Kindle, I dropped everything and immediately started reading it, which is what always happens when Jessica comes out with a new book.
This was my most anticipated sequel for Something in the Way and I’m beyond wary of what I have to do in order to continue with this review… I have to put myself back into the vulnerable state that I was in as I was reading it and it won’t be pretty. Only for you, Jessica, do I torture myself like this.
This sequel starts over a year after SITW and if you’ve read my review for that one, then you already know how personal this trilogy is to me. I won’t go into much detail but let’s just say that I completely relate to Lake’s situation because I went through something 97.9% similar at an even younger age than hers. Not only can I sympathize with Lake as a character but I also see myself in her, and as much as I hated it, Jessica reopened old wounds that were better left well alone. Not only did she reopen them but she also added fresh ones and didn’t let me forget about it. Of course, I already knew this would happen. I mean, how can it not, when the main character is going through THE SAME situation I went through that completely changed who I was, and not necessarily in the best way either.
Anyway, all of this didn’t deter me from inhaling Jessica’s words either way. Another book is coming our way from this series and I am not ready. I can only hope that my reopened wounds are healed enough to take on the torturous beating that I KNOW MTS (Move the Stars) has in store for me.
My heart and soul went out to Lake and I just wish I could jump into books so I could be a shoulder for her to cry and rely on. It was something I desperately needed, but never got, and I would hate for her to go through that as well. Her character development was amazing to witness. I was able to see what a year had done to her maturity level but I loved how she still has ways to go; it felt real. It wasn’t instantaneous and I can’t wait to see as she grows up even more inside. Her pain and suffering tore me up inside and opened up a flood gate out of me.
Which is more than I can say for Manning. Don’t get me wrong, I love that man with all of my heart, and I want to chase his fears away the more we dig into his past, but this book has made me double think my fierce want of him ending up with Lake. He did and said so many things that have shattered all of my hope for a reconciliation. Whatever happens after this, my heart won’t be into it. Like I said before, this is personal to me, and what I read with my own eyes was something that I wouldn’t accept for myself so I don’t expect Lake to do so either. She deserves so much better and I only care about HER happiness at this point. Just kidding, I care about Manning’s as well. Let’s just say I want them to be happy in the end, but as individuals, not as a couple. We’ll see what happens but either way, I will treasure this trilogy forever.
Also, my deep hatred for Tiffany the Hag has only multiplied a thousand times from book 1 and again, I won’t go into detail because she doesn’t deserve it.
Every single word out of Jessica’s hands felt like dagger after dagger was being thrown precisely at every part of me until I was covered in irreparable damage. I kept asking myself why I kept on reading and torturing myself but I couldn’t make myself look away. I had to stop at constant intervals because I would absolutely lose it in the middle of a sentence; I couldn’t read/take anymore until I had cried myself dry enough to be able to see clearly again. This happened at every turn of the page and it left me an exhausted hollow shell at the end of it all. I cried myself to sleep after finishing it and I couldn’t stop crying for days after. I closed myself up as I was forced to relive my own mistakes and heartbreak along with Lake’s. I had to watch my life fall apart all over again and I just hope Lake’s ending is better than mine.
Only an author of Jessica’s grand caliber is able to bring that out of her readers and I continue to be amazed by her ability to do so with such flair. I am her pawn and I just hope she knows how much pain she’s responsible for inflicting because I can’t even begin to explain it all.
….Also, is it October yet?
“She was taking forever from me.”

6.5/5 stars.


AUTHOR BIO

 oicsb13c_400x400

Jessica Hawkins grew up between the purple mountains and under the endless sun of Palm Springs, California. She studied international business at Arizona State University and has also lived in Costa Rica and New York City. To her, the most intriguing fiction is forbidden, and that’s what you’ll find in her stories. Currently, she resides wherever her head lands, which is often the unexpected (but warm) keyboard of her trusty MacBook.

——

AUTHOR LINKS

 [Amazon] [Facebook] [Website[Twitter]

 [Instagram] [Bookbub[Pinterest] 


DON’T MISS OUT ON ANYTHING JESSICA HAWKINS! Sign up for her Mailing List!

 [Mailing List]

Leave a Reply

