Review: Breaking by Danielle Rollins!

31450940

*ARC provided by Bloomsbury in exchange for an honest review*
This was my first book by Danielle and I am abso-freaking-lutely a fan of hers now! As soon as I read that this was a suspense/thriller type of book, I was all for it. No questions asked. The dark undertone that it seemed to ooze with every page made me too giddy for words and I wanted it to last a lifetime.
Going in, I knew NOTHING about this world and I just found out that I read the ‘second’ book in the series. They actually seem to follow different characters so I don’t feel like I’ve spoiled myself too much. No harm done! This news made me really happy because I’m dying to know more about this world and now I can read a ‘prequel’ as I hope for a continuation to this one. I seriously can’t wait to get my hands on it!! I feel like my prayers have been answered and I don’t have to wait for a release.
This book follows Charlotte as she tries to dig through the aftermath of the suicides of her two best friends. We get to witness as her world is torn from under her feet and she starts to question everything she thought was true. I have never read a story like this one and Charlotte was a unique main character, in my opinion. I loved seeing how she reacted to everything around her and she made me proud at times.
There were quite a few characters that I did not like but I won’t name them in order to keep myself from spoiling anything. But I will say that I really liked Zoe and the dynamic she had with Charlotte. It took me a while to actually get to that point but I am glad I did.
This entire story made me feel like I was walking through a field of landmines where the only way to get answers was to step on each of them . It ripped out many tears from me because there were some brutal events that I couldn’t stop envisioning. They were horrendous and it took a while for me to collect myself before forcing myself to continue with the story.
With that said, there was also a lot of badassery and savagery that I didn’t know I was in store for. A lot of other things caught me by surprise, and I am glad I didn’t know about them, because I would’ve been too intimidated to read this if I had. I really hope I can read more books as dark -and darker- as this one.
The only critical comment I have for this novel was that a few things were anticlimactic when it was built up like crazy. I still liked the story a lot but I would’ve loved for some secrets to have had more ‘unf’ to them in order to make the story a true 5 star read. Besides that, this is a story that I deeply cherish because it appealed to my dark side and I can’t wait for the next one!

4.5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

