Review: We Come Apart by Sarah Crossan and Brian Conaghan!

25310356

*ARC provided by Bloomsbury in exchange for an honest review*
“We never get lost
And
When I wake
I fear that our love will never be
Found.”
This was my first book by Sarah and Brain I was quickly blown away by them. I’ll admit, I was intimidated by this book as soon as I found out that it was written in verse. I’ve never read a book like this and honestly, it was way out of my comfort zone. I always feel like I won’t understand what the authors are trying to tell me but I’m glad this wasn’t the case here. I finally made up my mind to binge read this before I fell asleep yesterday and I ended up reading it in less than 2 hours. Because of that, I have officially fallen in love with verse books and I can’t wait to get my hands on more like it. I loved that the writing worked completely in its favor. It didn’t impede the message of the book to get lost in translation and it made me feel just as much as any regular written book ever has.
This book is dual POV and it was separated into 3 parts. It follows Nicu, an emigrated Romanian and Jess, as their lives entwine when they are both sent to the same place after getting arrested for stealing.
My heart was completely stolen by Nicu from the very beginning and it’s not just because he was the male lead. The way he expressed himself quickly told me that he had one of the sweetest and purest of hearts that I’ve ever come across. His verses were written in poor English which helped bring the story, and his background, to life even more beautifully than it already was. I loved seeing how carefully he chose his words and they were never, ever without a deep meaning. His humor made me smile until it hurt every single time and I just couldn’t get enough of him. I saw him as a little brother and I wanted to reach into the pages to comfort him at every turn. I was also really impressed by how Sarah and Brian didn’t need to tell us which POV we were reading. Jess and Nicu had their own unique voices that were easily distinguishable.
This story deal with a lot of racism, abuse, and mostly everything in between. It tore my heart out whenever anyone so much as thought something negative towards Nicu and it made me tear up more times than I could count.
The only reason I didn’t give this book a 5/5 was because I didn’t care much for Jess. Don’t get me wrong, I sympathized with her situation a lot but I feel like her character wasn’t as interesting as Nicu. I really liked her relationship with Nicu but I feel like she disappointed me more than not. They both had ugly lives at home and it had my stomach turning with a bad feeling in my stomach throughout it all.
With that said, I absolutely despised every other character in this story. I won’t go into detail but let’s just say that I went into a murderous rage every time anybody besides Nicu and Jess were being mentioned.
Now that I have read this from cover to cover, that title is killing me inside. I will always cry and die a little bit every time I hear/see it from now on. Thank you, Sarah and Brian, for writing a book that will stay with me forever. Also, one more comment…. SEQUEL?!?!??!
“And I dreaming of you last night,
But my eyes don’t close for sleeping,
And it raining in my stomach,
And it storming in my heart.”
4.5/5 stars!

4.5/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

