Review: Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett!

30312700

This was my first read by Jenn and I really can’t wait to read more from her.
This time, I’ll start with what I didn’t like so I can only focus on the good after. The only thing that made me feel robbed as a reader was the fact that the dust jacket gave the entire plot away. Usually, I don’t care, but it gave away a major plot twist and I’m not a happy camper about it. It could’ve done without it. So, my advice to you, is to NOT read the dust jacket (if you haven’t already) nor the Goodreads synopsis. Because of this, I already knew everything that would happen in the second half of the book and I don’t like being proved right when it comes to reading.
With that said, I would like to go on to everything I loved about this book.
The premise was so intriguing that I had to read it as soon as I got home from buying it. I am always interested in books revolving around friendships that originated on the internet since it’s relatable in this time and age. Even more for me because I actually met an Alex online that yes, I had a crush on, and would have loved to meet in person one day. But sadly, we fell out of touch and that was that.
This book was super cute and adorable from the very beginning which blew my expectations (which were quite ‘meh’ to begin with due to the synopsis telling me everything) away because it only got even more adorable from there.
We follow Mink, a film fanatic who has just moved to California where her online crush, Alex, coincidentally lives. She’s not stalking the guy, if that’s what you were thinking. She has her reasons and I really liked digging into her past which isn’t spoken about much. My favorite part of this book, besides the romance, was watching the dynamic between Mink and her dad. It always makes me feel a pang of jealousy whenever a main character is close to one (or both) of their parents because that is so far out of my reality that it astounds me. We get to see her character develop in a believable pace and I enjoyed watching it play out; She’s the type of person to keep everything bottled up due to her dislike of confrontation and watching her open up was a treat within itself. I quite enjoyed being in her head and I thought this book was too short for me even as it almost reached 400 pages.
I also loved, loved, loved, Porter beyond belief!!!! Porter is the security guard at Mink’s new summer job and I couldn’t get enough of the two. Porter is a guy that loves with everything he has and will do everything he absolutely can in order to protect them. He’s an amazing listener and his humor was always making me cry from laughter. He’s a surfer, loves quizzes, and is part Hawaiian which was a delightful addition to the story; We learned quite a bit of their culture through him. I would like to meet my very own Porter, if that isn’t too much to ask. Please and thank you! Also, his dynamic with his family was super sweet to witness.
The diversity in this book was phenomenal and it made California sound like a magical place. From someone who has lived here her entire life, I don’t know if I would call it ‘magical’ but it does have a certain charm. At least, some places do. I also really loved how my beautiful home town, San Jose, made a few cameos throughout the story. It made me yearn for more details of it since I miss living there and added to reading my experience.
Moving on to Alex. I liked seeing the messages he would send Mink and I could tell just how important she was to him. Their relationship was cute and it made the story even more enjoyable. The ending left me a smiling maniac and questioning why my life isn’t as cute as Mink’s…

4.8/5 stars!

4 responses to “Review: Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett!

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed the book, even if the dust jacket synopsis spoiled events for you. When I first discovered this book, before reading the synopsis or anything, I was informed that it was a YA adaptation of the movie You’ve Got Mail, which automatically lets you know practically everything that will happen in the story. Thankfully I can say that it did not lessen my enjoyment of the book at all. I still found it to be cute and fun and perfect for a quick summer read.

    Like

      • It has been a long time since I saw the movie but you have Meg Ryan as a small indie bookseller and Tom Hanks as a big box bookseller. They don’t like each other and butt heads in real life but unknown to them they have been emailing back and forth and kind of falling in love. So I guess this book substitutes an affection for movies instead of books, but otherwise I believe they are fairly similar.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

