Review: The Dragons of Nova by Elise Kova & Release Day Signing Photos!

perf5.500x8.500.indd

My review:

*ARC provided by Keymaster Press in exchange for an honest review*
“Your song will flat, I fear, since I have heard the truth of its melody.”
(I am still in shock over this book… I have no idea how to make my emotions known but I will definitely try for all of you.)
This is the sequel to the beauty that was The Alchemists of Loom. (If you haven’t read it yet, go go go!) I have to take a second to praise Kova’s sequels for never EVER falling flat to her readers but doing the exact opposite. I already know that I will always love anything from Elise Kova but this book took my awe to a whole new level. I will always treasure Air Awakens with my entire being but I think DoN has officially become THE book I’ll recommend from Elise until my last breath. I think a lot of it has to do with this being an adult novel/series. It didn’t restrain the force that is Elise Kova and boy, did it pay off. This book to her epicness to new heights and I can’t wait to see what she does with book 3!!!!
“No half measures.” Yveun might speak the words, but Elise Kova is the embodiment of such a phrase. Her writing is beyond savage and unusually tender at the same time. She played my emotions like a ukulele and I loved every second of it. You can do that anytime, Elise!
This novel takes place in a new setting, Nova, the Dragon Land, and I loved witnessing Ari and Cva switching roles because of it. Ari is now the one out of her element and the journey she let us see through her eyes was nothing short of interesting.
As greedy as I’ve become for every detail of these characters, I was also equally greedy for details of the world around them. This rarely happens since I’m usually too focused on the characters to even think about the setting. Leave it to Elise to explode my expectations.
We are introduced to new POV’s and I honestly couldn’t choose a favorite. But if I really have to, my favoritism lies between Cvareh and Petra!! I am afraid to admit that I didn’t notice how much I missed my baby Cva until my first sighting of him in this book. I swooned and died on the spot, only to be resurrected by his adorable quirkiness. That man is something else, and I love him beyond belief. Also… Holy Gods. I appreciated Petra in TAoL but I ADORE that woman now. She’s my role model from now on and I will live only to make her brutal majesty proud. Arianna also blew me away in this novel. She is the definition of BADASS but she took it to- you guessed it-new heights. The character developments were beyond magical and oh so fulfilling.
Another thing that I deeply appreciate about this series is how diverse it is. It’s navigated in a subtle and perfect way, just how diversity should always be handled. The chapters were short so even though there are a few characters to keep track of, it was fairly easy to devour.
The ending has me super excited -and nervous- about what is to happen but I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t pumped for the most part!!

6.5 stars!!!


Dragons of Nova (2)

As many of you know, I spent release day with Elise Kova herself! (Which is why this review is being posted the day after.) My friend Myranda took me with her to the San Mateo signing and I am forever grateful! I went Live on my Instagram for a bit of it but here are some pictures I took! This was my second time meeting her and I also got to see some of my other fellow book-loving friends! Elise Kova’s signings are always extremely laid back and it just feels like a reunion with best friends. She had some pre-order swag available so if you are ever on the fence about going to her signings, (I don’t know why you would be in the first place) go for the swag!

19961146_10208554277969159_3921938645366644396_n

She caught me taking selfies with her in the background so this happened:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Can you tell I’m trying not to laugh? Haha


And then we had a Tower Guard group shot!

19905450_10208554278529173_2773196997031958156_n


And last but not least, selfies with the Dragon Queen!

19989388_10208554280449221_2789097920488147469_n

19958901_10208554280049211_3202050745903640010_n

This was such a fun event and I can’t wait for the next! Thank you Elise for writing and making me cry with every book you put out!

One response to “Review: The Dragons of Nova by Elise Kova & Release Day Signing Photos!

  1. Pingback: Cover Reveal: The Rebels of Gold by Elise Kova! | The Bookish Crypt

Leave a Reply

