Review: Lucky in Love by Kasie West

30285562

*ARC provided by Scholastic in exchange for an honest review*
This is the third book I’ve read by Kasie West and unfortunately it wasn’t up my alley. I think my excitement over a new West novel might have been my downfall.
This story follows Maddie as she’s getting ready to graduate high school and is on the look out for acceptance letters from colleges. She works at a zoo and we see her turn 18 early on in the novel. She ends up celebrating it by buying a lottery ticket. The lottery ticket turns out being the winning ticket and it flips her entire life upside down. She was invisible at school and now she isn’t so we get to witness how the spotlight mends and breaks certain parts of her life.
Every word out of her mouth made me reel with disappointment and rage at every turn of the page. She was beyond naive and every one of her decisions/actions made my stomach clench with anxiety. I wanted to shake some sense into that girl far too many times to count and it wasn’t a fun experience. On the other hand, I really liked that the chapters were short. It was easy to get through without tearing my hair out over my dislike of Maddie.
I also didn’t like how this book was immensely predictable. No character managed to capture my interest except for Seth and the zoo animals. He was the only one that actually made me laugh every now and then and made the book a little bit entertaining.
I love YA, but sadly, this book was a bit TOO juvenile for me. My favorite part out of the entire novel were the last 2 chapters. I couldn’t help but wish the entire book were as cute as the very last chapter.
Even though I didn’t like this novel, it doesn’t mean that I’m giving up on Kasie. I am still holding on to hope that I will like the rest of her novels as much as I loved The Fill-In Boyfriend.

2.5/5 stars

3 responses to “Review: Lucky in Love by Kasie West

  1. Ive only ever read one Kasie West novel (PS I Like You), and while I enjoyed it, her writing was very young for young adult, and predictable.
    I’m sad to hear that you didn’t like this one! Maddy seems like she would probably annoy me to no end, and I hate the books where “fate” (or whatever you want to call it) is so far on one side of the character that it becomes ridiculous.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah I’ve heard some good things about fill-in boyfriend. I’ll have to try that one! I don’t know if I’m gonna go for any of her other books though…. I can only take so much ya contemp romance before I want to punch something 😬

        Like

Leave a Reply

