ARC Review: The Project by Courtney Summers

“You live inside your accident… and you are so afraid of the next.”
-ARC provided by Wednesday Books-
If that line doesn’t sum up my own life experience these past few years, I don’t know what will.
Wow, just wow. This was a story that I resonated with in so many ways. I can’t even put into words how grateful, but also, sad that statement makes me feel.
This follows Lo who lost most of her family in a car accident that left her in the icu. The only family member she has left now is her sister, Bea, who has joined The Project. This story picks up when Lo heads over to unmask The Project’s secrets while hoping to reunite with her sister. The journey that unfolded before my eyes was nothing short of heartbreaking and unforgiving. I honestly couldn’t have asked for a more gripping story out of this.
Lo is one of those characters that I immediately bonded with in a deeper level. I absolutely loved her sass, oh my god, she had me snickering at some of the things she’d say. She was not afraid to tell it how it is and I loved it so much.
But my bond with her ultimately came from the fact that I am also someone who has come face to face with her own mortality due to a major car accident. My life was split in two; the life I had before the accident and the one after the accident. Obviously, I felt like I didn’t know the person who emerged from that accident and I’ve yet to figure it out but I profoundly related to her constant question of ‘Who am I?.’
Thank you Courtney for writing such a gem, I can’t wait to read the next one!
4.5/5 stars!

Leave a comment