Review for Up to the Mountains and Down to the Countryside by Quincy Carroll

26219934

*ARC provided in exchange for an honest review*

Expected Publication Date: November 10, 2015

This is Quincy’s debut novel and I am so glad I got the chance to read it! I thought I was going to hit some challenged along the way since this is different than what I usually read but I am so glad that didn’t happen. In the contrary, once I cracked ope the spine, I couldn’t put it down.
Quincy’s writing is extremely easy to follow and visualize. I ended up reading this in one sitting because of it. I felt myself being easily transported to a country I have never experienced but after this book, I felt like I took a vacation there. This was an enjoyable read plus a learning experience. What I found unique about the writing was the fact that the dialogue lacked quotation marks. I have no idea if this is because it’s an ARC or not but like I mentioned, it was super easy to follow along nonetheless.
This book follows two men, Thomas and Daniel, who are English teachers in China and both get their own POV’s. Daniel is almost fluent in their language while Thomas isn’t. Both of these men are like water and oil. They both teach in the same school and are linked by one student, Bella. I was fine with her character in the first half of the story but reaching the second half, I couldn’t stand her at all. Thomas neither for the most part, but I still couldn’t put it down.
I find myself missing these characters a lot, especially Daniel. His POV was my absolute favorite. I got to see the struggles he faced with himself and it was heart wrenching. I wanted to reach into the pages and comfort him.
I hope Quincy writes a sequel to this because there are some unanswered questions but if he doesn’t, then I will cherish the moments I had with these characters completely. Each one was extremely realistic and unique, I almost felt like I was reading an autobiography. I wish I could book a vacation to meet this Daniel, he really left an impression on me.

[Goodreads Giveaway] (ends November 13)

4/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

