Review: Storm Born by Amy Braun!

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000447_00001]

*ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review*
Ever since I read the premise for this book, I have been obsessed with it. I thought about it all the time and was dying to read it since it sounded amazing and chaotic. Which, as it turned out, was so right!
This is a standalone novel and it follows Ava, one of the millions of victims of a recurring centennial storm that might not be so natural. This book starts out in the middle of all the chaos and it doesn’t let up. I was completely immersed into this world from the start. I’ve never met characters like these before, villains and heroes alike. Ava is incredibly hilarious and I loved watching her come out of her shell as the story progressed.
My one complaint was due to the relationship between Ava and a certain someone. I didn’t believe it was the big ‘L’ like she described it to be. I always need more ‘evidence’ if I’m to believe a love story and I felt like I didn’t get much of it here. I felt like I didn’t get to see much of ‘him’ in order to see what she saw in him. He was definitely swoon-worthy but I would’ve loved to have seen more of his personality, a bit more often. I did, however, believe that she was attracted to the guy (maybe a little too much and too quickly) but not in love. Fortunately, since this book isn’t that heavy on the romance, it didn’t really take away from my experience. BUT… my opinion about the relationship changed dramatically once something happened and I refused to believe it. Those last 2 chapters tore my heart out and I found out that I had grown fond of these two together. So all in all, Amy managed to manipulate my emotions in her favor. And I am pretty glad she did!
There are epic battle scenes- a constant with Amy- in every corner and I was attached to most of the supporting characters as well. Some things were a bit predictable but in the end, I didn’t care. The powers these people possessed were amazing and I was a bit (a lot) jealous of all of them because I didn’t have them.
As much as those last few chapters tore my heart out, I couldn’t stop smiling after closing the book. I was riding a high that nobody was able to take me away from. It was a perfect ending and this is where I cry and beg Amy to write a sequel. Just for me…
P.S. Can I give this a full start for just for the smell alone? Fun fact: Amy’s books have the BEST smell ever. They are a must buy if not just for that.

4.5/5 stars!

2 responses to “Review: Storm Born by Amy Braun!”

  1. […] Standalones: [Path of the Horseman] [Storm Born] […]

    Like

  2. […] Standalones: [Path of the Horseman] [Storm Born] […]

    Like

Leave a comment